We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Find”
Review of Delamore Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Delamore Lodge
Ranked #2 of 29 Waiheke Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Delamore Lodge is a fantastic find, just a short 45-minute ferry ride from Auckland city. The building, designed and decorated by owner/manager team Roselyn & Aaron, is warm and welcoming. Each suite has been tastefully decorated and offers guests panoramic views. We were impressed with the menu prepared by Aaron which rivals the best restaurants in the city....simply superb. We'd recommend Delamore Lodge to anyone heading to the Auckland area to begin or end a trip to New Zealand!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnatsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 234 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

From the minute we arrived at Delamore Lodge, we knew we had made the right decision. Waiheke has so much to offer, yet Delamore Lodge seems like the best kept secret that needs to be shared. We stayed for just one night to celebrate a special birthday with family, and were extremely sad to leave.

Roselyn, the Director is a charming and caring operator where no detail is ignored. Her right hand man and Chef, Aaron, has the ability to create the most divine gastronomic sensations. The only criticism, which is hardly one at all, is the portion sizes are so huge, be prepared to go up a dress size by the end of the weekend OR fast in preparation!

Delamore Lodge is within 10 minutes of the ferry, absolutely stunning, views galore, the detail in every area of the facility is breath taking, the rooms divine and the experience, absolutely priceless. Having had the privilege to have stayed at luxury accommodation around the world, including New Zealand's Huka Lodge, this is right up there with them - quite possibly better.

Value for money is not a question at this facility. I would like to say that all should seriously consider Delamore for that special occasion but frankly, for an escape, a romantic get a way or just for the heck of it - Delamore Lodge most certainly needs to be in the consideration set.

Room Tip: We booked out the lodge and therefore I saw all options available. Every one of the suites are divin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SARNOR70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Located in a magnificent location, Roselyn and Aaron make you feel very welcome in their beautiful lodge. We only stayed one night but had a huge breakfast overlooking the water. The rooms are large and spacious and the lodge has lots of areas to kick back and relax. We'll be back

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We've travelled and seen luxury lodges before but nothing comes close to the Delamore Lodge ! WOW ! is the only expression that comes to mind when one see's the spectacular location and stunning views. Every little detail has been taken care of and Roselyn and Nicky are just fantastic hosts. The food is to die for too. We sat in the beautiful lounge and lost ourselves listening to Andrea Bocelli and sipping single malt ! Just a phenomenal experience overall and highly recommended without any hesitation at all !! Thank you Roselyn :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ognish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband & I recently stayed at Delamore Lodge for two nights. What an incredible experience! The lodge and accommodation is absolutely stunning...the view magnificent. The spa facility and massages that we booked were sensational. I had a pilates instructor come in for a one on one session, she was great.
The food prepared for us by Aaron was fabulous, breakfast delicious (and enormous) pre-dinner drinks in the lounge were a great time to relax before we popped out to some of the gorgeous restaurants Waiheke has to offer.
So nice to sneak away for a couple of nights, and the perfect choice at Delamore Lodge. We will undoubtedly return. Soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I bought a package of a night's accommodation plus extras for my husband's birthday. We had an amazing time and would recommend the Lodge to anyone.

Auckland's fickle weather was kind and after a day of rain and wind we arrived to calm seas and the outstanding view from our room. Having just been out to lunch (a mistake) we picked at the nibbles and wine waiting for us in out suite. I just loved the views, so peaceful!

Canapés' and drinks were served at six. It was nice chatting with the other guests, there was no shortage of wine and the food was delicious. Dinner was at seven and it seemed we were a little rushed to sit at the table, I would have preferred a little longer chatting (mind you, I was far from hungry!).

The meal was outstanding, my only complaint being it was far, far too much. It seems so wasteful to send a plate back to the kitchen with beautiful prawns, oysters, smoked chicken roulade still on it. Grace, the lovely server, informed us we'd never go hungry at Delamore Lodge. She wasn't kidding! All three courses were delightful. The reduction over the duck was so lovely and the feta tartlets just divine. I am not a dessert person but the crème brulee (I think it was Baileys flavour) was to die for. Full as I was I made quite a dent in it.

Breakfast was again, massive but very tasty. I enjoyed the "apple crumble" and other inventive touches.

All in all, we had a lovely visit. Will aim for two nights next time as we didn't have enough time to use all of the facilities in our short stay. The internet connection was patchy at best but everything else was five star.

Thanks Aaron and Grace!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Delamore has and always will be a special place for my wife and me to stay for special events. We were more than delighted to have exposed this gorgeous retreat as part of a 20th year business celebration.

Room Tip: Awatea Suite is our favourite; the view is incomparable from anywhere else in the Hauraki Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiheke Island
3.8 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#2 of 5 in Waiheke Island
107 reviews
2.8 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#4 of 5 in Waiheke Island
93 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#9 of 29 in Waiheke Island
184 reviews
2.2 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delamore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delamore Lodge

Address: 83 Delamore Drive | Martiatia, Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Waiheke Island
Price Range: $981 - $1,362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Delamore Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star luxury accommodation at Delamore Lodge on Waiheke Island in Auckland’s spectacular Hauraki Gulf. Located above the sheltered waters of Owhanake Bay, Delamore Lodge can easily be reached by ferry, helicopter or direct flight from Auckland International Airport. Each of its four private guest suites and the two-bedroom apartment offers the finest facilities, food and magical views. Indulge in gourmet breakfasts and award-winning local wines. Enjoy onsite spa treatments, the heated infinity-edge pool, sauna and Jacuzzi. A variety of leisure activities and dining options are nearby.Dinners are optional at the lodge, recommeded for at least one night, or we can book you at one of our fabulous island restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Delamore Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delamore Hotel Waiheke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing