We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Boatshed

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boatshed
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

This is such an amazing gem of a find, I really think we will struggle to beat it! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left it was the most fantastic experience and everything you hope a bespoke boutique hotel will offer. The rooms are delightful, beautifully furnished, quality bed linen, even the sun cream is provided with your beach towels and beach bag. Nothing is too much trouble for the team. Breakfast is gorgeous, laid out allowing you to help yourself when you rise. There are no time pressures, everything is about relaxation. Dinner in the evening is exquisite. We dined for three nights and ate some of the best food I have tasted.

It really is a must for any traveller in Auckland and I will be recommending it to any of my friends who are travelling to NZ.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkern76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
182
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

We had such a lovely stay at the Boatshed as part of our honeymoon - we sonly stayed 2 nights but we did not want to leave. We were truly amazed by the level of service and attention to detail Jonathan and Andrew put into everything.
As this was our honeymoon we had high expectations and we were not let down, from the quality of service to the amazing rooms with open fire's - just the best experience from a hotel one could ever have.
No formalities such as check in or asking for cc details which just makes the whole experience feel as if you a visiting a friend – a friend who has very good taste in decor as the whole feel of the Boatshed is warm and welcoming in a very stylish way.

The Boatshed exceeded any expectations we had and they really have a product to be proud of.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fulton2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed here for two nights at the start of our honeymoon, and when we left we found ourselves wishing we'd stayed for a whole week instead. We loved every aspect of The Boatshed, but here are the top 3 things that stood out to us:

It exceeded our expectations in terms of service. Jonathan has thought of all the little details, and it shows. From the housemade espresso and cocktails to the breakfast spreads, everything is first-rate. It's quite simply a welcoming atmosphere, with friendly and helpful staff.

The rooms are clean, cozy, and comfortable. We lounged around for two days, and even when we drove around the island, we were looking forward to returning and relaxing in our room. The sheets were also very nice. This is a small detail, but when you're sleeping in a new place it can make all the difference.

The food was amazing. We had all our breakfasts at the hotel (3 in total), and both the continental breakfast spread and the hot breakfast were amazing. In fact, I think the hot breakfasts were some of the best food we had on our entire 2-week stay in NZ. We also had dinner there the last night, and it was perfect. Jonathan and his staff were the consummate hosts, and the food - from appetizers to dessert - was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

My partner and I stayed at The Boatshed from the 20th to the 26th of December. We were greeted with a local cheese platter and a glass of wine and a beautiful view of Oneroa. Avoiding the usual check in nonsense, we were immediately relaxed, and greeted by the wonderful staff and hosts. We stayed in the new bungalow, which was on the opposite side of the main building. We enjoyed the privacy this offered, as well as the stunning room and views. Every detail of the room was clearly well thought out, from the selection of books, to the wine and the gorgeous living nature skin and hair care products. My favourite items, were the bathrobes - which were nice, big, cotton robes that you could just wrap all the way around yourself and curl up into when lazing on the super soft sofa, the very nifty ironing board that lives in a drawer, tidied away in the dressing room, and the enormous floral display in the reception of our bungalow. The beautiful smell of the Lillies welcomed us any time we passed by.

More important than physical luxuries of the The Boatshed were the people. Jonathan, Andrew, Peter, Victoria and Vassila were warm, friendly and funny. Jonathan made our stay so relaxing, ensuring we had whatever we needed. Andrew was bordering on psychic, producing a local wine or cocktail just when we needed a drink. Peter welcomed us at breakfast everyday, and makes a stunning Eggs Benedict. Vassila, was always friendly and chatty, asking if she could help organise activities and Victoria always welcomed us with a smile. They really made our stay memorable.

We were also very lucky to have spent Christmas Day here, and it will be a day I never forget. From the breakfast to the stunning Christmas dinner, the whole day was a gastronomical dream. By this point it didnt surprise us, as the food at The Boatshed was the best we experienced on Waiheke. We did try Cable Bay and Mudbrick wineries for meals, and they were also good, but we felt The Boatshed provided a far better experience all round - better food, better selection of drinks, wonderful service and attention, and we only had to totter off around the corner when we were done.

We hired a car and drove from auckland airport, via the sealink ferry to Oneroa - not a difficult journey. We felt this allowed us to see more of the Island, however we enjoyed The Boatshed so much we spent much of our time relaxing there, reading, enjoying wine, getting a massage and admiring the view. There is not a bad view on the Island, and I would recommend The Boatshed to anyone looking to visit this part of the world.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquiCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

We loved our stay at the Boatshed! Jonathon is fabulous host who knows when to give his guests privacy and when to join them for a laugh. This was our favorite stop in New Zealand. Waiheke is an amazing place with great food and great wine. we loved exploring different sides of the island all with a stunning view. The location of the boatshed was great because we could walk to beaches or to town. We enjoying Thanksgiving Dinner there and it was one of our favorite meals. We stayed in a great room overlooking the ocean and were so pleased with the relaxed vibe and great music selection in the room.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annamarylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

Jonathan Scott carries on a tradition begun by his father, and may have taken it to a new level of excellence. We indulged in the Jet Lag package, which included two massages after our 9-hour flight and ferry ride from Auckland, and a beautiful multi-course dinner beautifully prepared. The rooms had every comfort and amenity except, gratefully, a television. The beds and linens were exquisite. Part of the joy and adventure of The Boatshed is picking a special perch above a beautiful bay to read, eat, sip a glass of wine, or snooze. For the adventurous, take a vigorous walk to Cable Bay or Mudbrick's beautiful wineries that look back across the bay to Auckland. Both offer lovely meals and wines, thoughtfully prepared and presented. Or head out by foot for a stunning and heart-starting tramp along the craggy coastal trail nearby. The center of town is less ambitious and less rewarding, but still good for its community gallery, banks, and its wine bars overlooking the water. It was one of two favorites places we stayed during a three-week tour of New Zealand's two main islands. Very special. And made more so because of the gracious and helpful hospitality of Jonathan.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hummingbird92662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

My husband had a stop-over in New Zealand from the United States so i decided to join him there for a few days of R and R. A quick trip (40 mins) on the ferry from Auckland and we arrived on Waiheke Island. A taxi was there to greet us and take us to the The Boatshed. We had booked the Lighthouse. The owner/manager greeted us and we were shown our room. There are only 5 rooms in this boutique small hotel (featured in the Great Small Hotels list). The Lighthouse is a 3 storey suite. The modern bathroom on the entry level has a heated floor and gorgeous natural botanical washroom goodies. 2nd floor is the bedroom with Queen bed (not a lot of wardrobe space) and delightful view through the picture windows. The 3rd floor is the sitting room with 2 day beds, tea/coffee making facilities, mini bar, music system, TV, fresh fruit and the best jelly beans I have ever tasted! The view from this room is spectacular - a beautiful bay looking past Little Barrier Island and northward. A number of very large boats/ yachts anchored in the bay during the weekend.
The staircase is a is a circular one so is not suitable for children or disabled, but the other room options of accommodation are just as wonderful with easy access and fireplaces.
We hired "Togs" the hotels mini moke for the day and toured the island. Absolutely no comfort, but the experience and laughter makes up for it ten-fold!!!! Bay after bay of fabulous photo opportunities and lots of vineyards to visit and do tastings at.
The cuisine at The Boatshed was really fantastic. The chef was eager to please and as I am on a "Lactose Free" diet, he was more than willing to accommodate my needs. The hotel has its own organic garden where they pick the vegetables, herbs and flowers daily and the flowers are everywhere in the dining/sitting areas and rooms. Evening dining is a delightful event - not cheap but well worth the cost when atmosphere and good wine is put into the mix. Breakfast (included in the tariff) includes a buffet of fresh fruits, cereals, breads and the chef does a cooked breakfast of your choice.
The ambience of the hotel is relaxing and welcoming with a quirky mix to the tasteful, beachy yet elegant architectural design. The communal sitting areas (internal and external) have a homey feel with books and magazines by the hundreds to suit everyone's taste. In-room spa treatments are available too.
The owner ensures your stay is just as you want it to be and is willing to tell you about the Island's history and the best places on the island to explore.
We will be returning to The Boatshed as it was really a wonderful small, personal hotel in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4bearsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiheke Island
1.3 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.6 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.5 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#4 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boatshed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boatshed

Property: The Boatshed
Address: Corner of Tawa and Huia Streets | Little Oneroa, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boatshed 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boatshed is a small luxury hotel on Wiaheke Island - sitting above the beach of Oneroa with extensive views out over the bay. Best described as "barefoot luxury", this seaside hotel and the island its on are a perfect reflection of the modern New Zealand holiday - with a high level of design detail, beaches, vineyards, galleries, and stunning coastal walkways make this little place the perfect tonic for those wanting to get away from it all. We look forward to seeing you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boatshed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boatshed Hotel Waiheke Island
Boatshed Waiheke Island
Boatshed Hotel Waiheke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing