We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally AMAZING” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boatshed

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waiheke Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Boatshed
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

My wife and i got married here on 25/10/08. We arranged it direct with Jonathan, having had no prior knowledge of the place at all.
Ignore the comments of the lady from Switzerland, they are completely off the mark. From the first email until the end of our stay we and our two friends lived like royalty. Jonathan and his father couldn't have been better hosts and helped make our wedding perfect.
The food was michelin standard. I simply can't praise the Boatshed enough and worth every penny. Factor into this review that the four of us are very hard to please!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andynat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
172
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2009

real exclusive service, superb location, unbelievable gourmet dinners

Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lpotamianos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sion, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

If you love the cleanness don't choice Boat Shed.
the dog's owner stay always on the sopha of the lobby and its hairs is throughout , so if you seat on the char or on the sopha, you sweater and skirt will be cover of hairs's dog.
the food is very very very horrible, a black lady that do also housekeeper is the chef of the restaurant and she can't cook ggod plate.
the hotel is overprice, is a one star hotel service, stairs evrywhere, sofa not clean, sheet, full oh hairs , food horrible, stinking carpets, no swimming pool, no restaurant: you will have dinner in the entrance without windows, not in a restaurant.
don't provide room service,
Go there only if you love dogs.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AstrieWallerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

We stayed for a long weekend for a friends wedding.
The rooms were of a very high standard. They had very original designs and were very comfortable and cozy.
The service was outstanding. All of the staff were extremely friendly and would go out of their way to be accommodating. All of the guests were made to feel very welcome.
The food was also lovely. It was original and very fresh. You could taste the extra effort that was put into each meal. (I'm a chef by trade). Great job.
The island itself is beautiful. Great beaches and lovely landscapes. The vine yards are also amazing.
As well traveled people this is one of the best places my wife and I have stayed in. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

This property leaves nothing to chance! The design of the architecture just is so gorgeous but the finer details which are very subtle and are what makes this a delightful place to stay.

I love that although Jonathan & David were always attentive and were there for your every needs you were left to relax in the beautiful surroundings feeling like the beautiful hotel was almost yours alone.

I am a travel agent from Sydney and have had the opportunity to stay in many gorgeous and luxurious properties but this one is truly one of my top holiday destinations now.

Sonya

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonya777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2009

We arrived at the boatshed on Waiheke Island after a taxi and short boat trip from Auckland airport to start our honeymoon. The service is personal and friendly and we were shown to our boatshed room by the manager. There is a very aesthetic sense of attention to detail, which makes the whole hotel a joy to explore. From the pre-packed beach bags to the architecture and hotel books that are carefully placed around, it makes you feel like a valued guest in someone's house.

The service and comfort means it is a great place to recover from jet lag or prepare for your long trip home having seen NZ. The lazy style and good food we ate meant we easy got through the adjustment of coming from London.

There are a number of walks and places to explorer on the island and it is notable for having some great wine, a lot of which is available in the hotel. The food is well cooked and breakfast is a fantastic spread. Although the small nature of the hotel means that you don't have the traditional menu variety available so do talk to the chef to say what your preferences are.

I wouldn't describe it as cheap but it is a gem of a place set on a stunning island run by people with a real passion. Well worth beginning or ending your NZ trip here.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Green_kermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

From arrival to our reluctant departure The Boatshed provided the perfect place for us to celabrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The Lighthouse provided luxurious accomodation with most impressive views over Litte Oneroa beach. The attention to detail throughout is a credit to David the designer and Jonathan the Captain of the fabulous Boatshed Crew. Meals are a time of great indulgence with flavours to savour, all produced with much attention and devotion by Gordon and for us on one night Jonathan himself. Elizabeth makes sure that you have everything you need, from advice about local places to visit to friendly chats about life.
The Boatshed is a delightful place to stay, we loved everything about it from the books and magazines at your finger tips, the candlelight turndown service each night to Rupert the beautiful resident Schnauzer.
We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macOceanGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiheke Island
1.3 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.6 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.1 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boatshed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boatshed

Property: The Boatshed
Address: Corner of Tawa and Huia Streets | Little Oneroa, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boatshed 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boatshed is a small luxury hotel on Wiaheke Island - sitting above the beach of Oneroa with extensive views out over the bay. Best described as "barefoot luxury", this seaside hotel and the island its on are a perfect reflection of the modern New Zealand holiday - with a high level of design detail, beaches, vineyards, galleries, and stunning coastal walkways make this little place the perfect tonic for those wanting to get away from it all. We look forward to seeing you soon... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Boatshed Hotel Waiheke Island
Boatshed Waiheke Island
Boatshed Hotel Waiheke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing