We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful, relaxing place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boatshed

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waiheke Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Boatshed
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful, relaxing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

We went to the boatshed as our last stop on our 3 weeks tour in NZ - what a nice way to end! The hotel is beautiful, with amazing views and great service. The locations, just a few minutes from both time and the beach is perfect too.
And the organic garden is simply awesome - and helps make the great food even more special!

Room Tip: they are all magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Francoise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
172
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

A night at the Boatshed - my only complaint was that we did not stay longer. Was lovely and we enjoyed every moment of our stay. The rooms are just gorgeous and the food for both dinner and breakfast delicious. Fantastic service and really nice staff as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KirstyGrant32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

My husband and I are just back from two fantastic nights at the Boatshed. What a great place! Attentive and discreet service and amazing food. All the little extras are there such as complimentary wine and a cheese upon arrival, bottled water by the bedside, candles lit in the bathroom in the evenings. Genuine and helpful staff. We tend to travel and eat out a lot and would rate this place as one of the best. The dinner on our first night was outstanding. Delicious canapés on the deck while we watched the sunset, great food and wine and service. This is definitely one of the nicest places we've stayed. Exactly what a boutique hotel should be. Didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pixie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idstein, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel is paradise: Just a few rooms with a lot of privacy, a great team, able to read your wishes from your eyes and perfect dinners. At The Boatshed you don't feel like hotel, it's just a place to join - we stayed there for two nights, fell in love with the "Waiheke Island feeling" and think about how to return since we left it. Perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms are different, all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kai23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

It's going to be hard to add anything new to the already long list of good reviews for the Boatshed without sounding gushy - so i'll keep it to a minimum. Beautiful, stylish decor, attentive and discreet service, fantastic well cooked food, great views over Little Oneroa beach - a perfect small hotel. We didnt want to leave!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Our recent honeymoon stay at the Boatshed was outstanding. As other reviewers have describe at length, the style and decor of the place is unbelievably beautiful and stylish. The food is exceptional and out room - the 'lighthouse' - was literally an oasis with a top floor lounge with wrap around views of the island and a sun drenched daybed. Our stay was a wedding gift from our friends and family and was very gratefully received. If we had paid the bill ourselves, however, I may have been a bit more critical because in peak season the Boatshed and its peers are an incredibly expensive way to travel in New Zealand. The only constructive criticism I would provide to the management of the Boatshed is not to forget about "luxury hotel basics" in the quest for style and ambiance. For example, at those prices, I was surprised to find low grade bath products, no complementary slippers and 'turn down treats' only on our first night. Those Anzac biscuits were amazing - keep them coming every night please!!

Room Tip: The Lighthouse!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NYLON2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

Take your car and drive around the island stop at the man I war wineries for a testing on th beach
Dinner at mud rick very nice with sunset on Auckland very good food
Choose to come to waiheke because of the Brel as it s on most luxury books
Traveling with our young daughter feelings are mix after 3 days
Our daughter just love all the books the arts the tables sofas the millions of things to touch and play with
Jen find the decor very very nice attention to details with lots of things in the bathroom and the mini bar
We find the our host extremely nice shy and ready for anything to please us, the chef the house keeper everyone smile and make you relax
It s a very nice place for lovers, romantic week end , it s a sweet place
Come here relax and have a pizza on the beach downstair by the beach with a bottle or 2 of local wine no brainer

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmherbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiheke Island
1.3 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.6 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.1 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boatshed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boatshed

Property: The Boatshed
Address: Corner of Tawa and Huia Streets | Little Oneroa, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boatshed 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boatshed is a small luxury hotel on Wiaheke Island - sitting above the beach of Oneroa with extensive views out over the bay. Best described as "barefoot luxury", this seaside hotel and the island its on are a perfect reflection of the modern New Zealand holiday - with a high level of design detail, beaches, vineyards, galleries, and stunning coastal walkways make this little place the perfect tonic for those wanting to get away from it all. We look forward to seeing you soon... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Boatshed Hotel Waiheke Island
Boatshed Waiheke Island
Boatshed Hotel Waiheke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing