We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning views, underwhelming hosts.”
Review of Te Whau Vineyard - CLOSED

Te Whau Vineyard
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The steep incline of this vineyard makes tours out of the question, but a delicious lunch on the patio, overlooking hills and water, as well as a taste of the excellent Chardonnay makes a visit here very worthwhile.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Stunning views, underwhelming hosts.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Visited to see views & taste wines. We're not disappointed with views, simply stunning. Wine tasting- $9 for 4 very generous servings, wine was lovely. But there was little input, passion or interest in explaining from the host. Told to read the tasting notes. Such a contrast to Ponderi Crisci where there was such joy in sharing. Felt like they were jaded/over it and we were an inconvenient distraction.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    5
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Are you paying for the winemaking process, rather than the wine itself?”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Probably the most impressive vineyard setting on Waiheke - which is saying something - and a restaurant which we would have really like to have eaten in based in reviews and the menu. However, of the 10 vineyards we visited it was the only one let down by the lingering scent of wine snobbery. There was none of the humility of some of the other vineyards that were producing better (and cheaper) wine. Instead there was a European stuffiness, as shown by the dogmatic and slightly tired attachment to cork over screw top. Why pay 70 dollars for a bottle here when you can pick up a trophy winner from Passage Rock for 15 dollars less?

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monkey-and-Sprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“pass the sauvignon!”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

beautiful wine from beautiful surroundings. A wonderful day out, even with a small child

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank ACR68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wine tasting experience most disappointing”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stopped in for a wine tasting. The prices charged for a wine tasting was rather pricey at $9.00 to taste 3 red wines. There were no palate cleansers or offers of water to rinse/cleanse the palate. The service was disappointing and quite unfriendly. There was no effort made to promote the virtues of their wine. Honestly it was possibly the worst red wines I have ever tasted: bitter, acidic and quite vinegary.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank marge m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiffleNewZealand, Owner at Te Whau Vineyard, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Sorry you felt the way you did tasting our wine at our little vineyard. Our wines have a national and international reputation and ratings as some of the finest examples of their kind in New Zealand. I think I would trust the experienced palates of Bob Campbell MW, Michael Cooper OM and Hugh Johnson OBE before your shallow and rather nasty, nay bitter, "critique".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“View/wine: A+, Service: B”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We went for a spot of wine tasting. The selection is meagre: 3 vintages of the same blend, red wine only. I tried the 2007 which is $70nzd per bottle and $3 a taste. Beautiful, complex, smooth, rich. We spoke with the vineyard owner, who was a quiet man, and not particularly welcoming.
The restaurant view is great.

Helpful?
Thank collardsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Whau Vineyard also viewed

Surfdale, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing