We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food”

Man O' War Vineyards
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Onetangi, null, New Zealand
1 review
“Bad food”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The location is wonderful, the wine is delicious but the food is very over priced for a boring, packaged selection for the platter and the usual, and expensive. panini's. When are we going to get something other than Paninis everywhere. I notice other people have said the platters were good, Well I totally disagree.

Such a shame as its a long drive and it would be nice to eat something tasty there. I wont be returning. Thank goodness for Passage Rock on the way home.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosiekaplan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    83
    12
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
154 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Magic location”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This winery is picture-perfect. A purpose-built colonial style building with an inviting verandah along the front overlooking a green lawn and out to a gorgeous bay - what could be better!

The girl doing our wine tastings was helpful and friendly and gave us a bit of a potted history on the winery's name and beginnings.

The wine was lovely. We bought three bottles, and would've definitely purchased more if we had brought our own car over to the island!

A magic spot. Next time we will try a platter which they do over summer so we can sit out on the lawn over the picturesque bay to enjoy with our wine - pure heaven! :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank foodlover27264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
149 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Supreme Service”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Wonderful hosts, supreme service, in a corner of NZ one would not normally take the time to visit. Unique to say the east with a top quality range of wines, all grown locally.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank FloydianNZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Keep going back...”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just love this area on the island, peaceful and away from the crowds - although it gets busy at the vineyard! Very simple platters for lunch, but great area overlooking the bay to enjoy a fabulous glass of wine. Loved by families as kids can run around on the grass - always and enjoyable outing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank c73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
157 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best spot ever!!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Like and old country pub, big lawn, games for the kids, right on the beach - but with the best quality wines on the island. Hard to get to, but well worth the effort.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KBE9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Man O' War Vineyards also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
 
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Man O' War Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing