We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only way to do Waiheke”

Island Sailing onboard Te Aura - Waiheke Island
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Te Aura is a 12 metre skippered catamaran designed for sailing charters in style. Guests can enjoy catered, hands on sailing or relax amongst the numerous scenic bays, wildlife and breathtaking scenery of Waiheke Island and Hauraki Gulf. Options include a range of shared or exclusive day or twilight wine tasting cruises. Te Aura is safe and stable, and is ideally suited to a wide age range including children and has an on-board galley bar.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We pitched up at the Waiheke ferry pier on Saturday morning, the beautiful catamaran "Te Aura" pulled up and our hosts Phill & Maire invited us on board,

We booked a 3 hour sailing experience and it was absolutely fantastic.

You could help out if you want to or just sit back and relax. Phill and Maire were the perfect hosts. Coffee and pastries served up on deck. Sailing instructions, information about the island and current sculpture walk.

We stopped for a swim and kayak.
The best bit was we all got the chance to "Drive".

Great day, great hosts. cant recommend the experience highly enough.

Thank AntRichman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maire B, Owner at Island Sailing onboard Te Aura - Waiheke Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback....we have been very busy and I have been very tardy in responding to the great review..Thank you. We love it when our guests enjoy the charters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

16 - 20 of 34 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was one of the best weekend getaways I have ever been on. Sailing around Auckland and the Islands was stunning with gourmet pre-lunch, lunch and cocktails to complete the journey. Phill and Maire were fantastic hosts who went out of their way to cater to our every need. I highly recommend Island Sailing to anyone (couples, families, groups, businesses) who wants an extravagant but relaxed sailing trip with wonderful catering and company.

Thank Aisdnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maire B, Owner at Island Sailing onboard Te Aura - Waiheke Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Hi Aishling,
Thanks for the fantastic review..it was a fantastic weekend for us as we really enjoyed hosting you and your friends...what a fabulous bunch of young people. We look forward to hosting the hens/stags in years to come! What a great way to start 2013.
Best Wishes,
Marie and Phill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Forget the xmas presents (stress of buying and do you really need it anyway! )- go for a family fun experience instead , thats what we wanted and that's exactly what we got with a chartered sailing day with the Te Aura and the crew.
We had a fanatastic day out sailing in the Hauraki Gulf around the islands. The wind was perfect for a great sail and for lunch we anchored off Waiheke Island at a lovely spot for kayaking and snorkelling.
Phil, Maire and Brendon were super hosts and the food ....hmmm beautiful !
Well recommended for a great experience and seeing what New Zealand and the Hauraki Gulf has to offer. Magic !

Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maire B, Owner at Island Sailing onboard Te Aura - Waiheke Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Hi Pat and Tim,
Finally back in the. Office after a sailing charter to Great Barrier. It was lovely to meet you and the family and small world that you knew the Bellerby clan. Delighted you enjoyed your Christmas gifts and we certainly will promote that concept next year. Good luck with all the plans for the house.
Marie and Phill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Our full day sailing abord the Te Aura was PERFECT! I originally contacted Marie via Facebook and she was fantastic providing options for our day and responding to personal requirements of members of our group. Marie, Phill and Brendan were great hosts - and the delicious lunch met our varied dietary requirements. This was definitely a highlight of our Waiheke holiday.

Thank JaneCWeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maire B, Owner at Island Sailing onboard Te Aura - Waiheke Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Jane, I really enjoyed meeting your lovely family and it was our pleasure to host you on board Te Aura and share the beautiful Hauraki Gulf. Thank you so much for all those lovely goodies you left at the house. See you on your next trip to Waiheke..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I were fortunate enough to have spent 2 days with Phil, Maire and their son Brendon with our family.
Our first experience was sailing around the bay wine tasting. This was a magnificent way to spend our first afternoon on Waiheke tasting all the local wines and getting to know the place. We were also fortunate to taste some of the local produce prepared by Maire. The day was a little overcast, but it did not take away from the magnificence of sailing around thye bay.
Our second experience was a couple of days later where we spent a full day sailing. Phil sailed us around another side of the island to Onetangi (forgive the spelling!) where we dropped anchor, and had lunch cooked by Phil and Maire. Again tasting the local produce - the mussels in the white wine sauce were just divine!
Phil and Maire were just so accomodating to our family and we had the most amazing time, Dad even got to sail for a bit! It was the just the most amazing experinece and a wonderful way to see the island - a must do if you are in Waiheke!
Thanks Phil, Maire and Brendon!

2  Thank Chelsea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maire B, Owner at Island Sailing onboard Te Aura - Waiheke Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

We so enjoyed meeting you all and I really enjoyed introducing you to some of Waiheke's delicious wines. Thank you for booking two charters. It was a fantastic end to 2012 to spend the day on board Te Aura with such a lovely family. Thanks for the great feedback. Happy 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Sailing onboard Te Aura - Waiheke Island also viewed

Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
 
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Surfdale, Waiheke Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing