We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't Be here much longer”

151 Ocean View Seafood Bar & Grill
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Won't Be here much longer”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely terrible pricing for food. Fish was supposed to be fresh and could easily tell it had been frozen. No tables had been wiped. Was just all a mess and service was shocking. Was a day at waiheke expected to be filled with lovely cuisine but nope. Don't visit here anyone. I am a kiwi too so usually not too fussy! Terrible terrible terrible

Helpful?
Thank rosepetalweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    10
    1
    3
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Much improved!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I wrote a very bad review for this fish n chip shop some time ago. However, it appears there are now new owners at the helm and tonight's experience was much improved. The food was great (my husband commented that the deep friend oysters were the best he has ever had at a fish n chip shop - beautifully fresh) and, unlike before, the service is now also very good.

We are glad we can now happily shop at out local takeaways!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“The Local fish and chips place”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

However since they moved to their new premises their restaurant make the best fish chowder you can imagine Central Oneroa with a great view over the bay. Definetely the best fish dishes on the island . You can take me out there any time

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank robvaassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“very very average”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

very very average place to dine but there were not a large selection of places around.It is a pity that in such location the owners can not improve the quality .Not cheap for what you get

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loti89890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great fresh fish”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Sounds like others have had a bad experience here, but we just ordered fresh fish and chips and took them home and they were the best fish and chips I have had in years. No complaints from me :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 151 Ocean View Seafood Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Surfdale, Waiheke Island
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
 
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing