We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food with a view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Crab Thai Restaurant

Red Crab Thai Restaurant
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent menu and well priced. The staff were very helpful and the location is just stunning over looking the water. I wouldn't hesitate to eat there again, when next on Waiheke.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    76
    33
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Really good menu, location has great views and reasonably priced. It's on the smaller side so don't go with pushchairs!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AngelaFaye74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food with amazing views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went at lunch time on a Sunday so it was a bit busy. However we had our food not long after we ordered. The food was amazing and great value. We took advantage of the lunchtime special of starters, main and desert with a glass of wine all for $22.50.
The view is amazing, looking out to the beaches and over the water
Would recommend visitors to the island to call in for dinner here!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Thai food we've had in a long while.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our family, 5 adults, 2 children, really enjoyed our visit. The food was delicious authentic Thai - that taste that starts as soon as you see your meal and lingers long after. Can't praise it enough. The view over the water towards the Coromandel is beautiful. Unlike other reviewers though, we found the service sporadic in its quality. Friendly wait staff but had not set enough places for us even though we had booked for 7. We had to ask for water even though we had been offered it when we sat. When we asked for an additional glass, it came without water! Our meals took a while to come. Yet, although this was typical of the service, it wasn't annoying. We found it amusing and all in all we loved our experience and would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie52Hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

When we first walked in it was a little noisy with groups and children and I thought we had made a mistake in choosing, But the food was good Thai food and the service was great, didnt realise until we were leaving could have used BYO option. Grrr.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cher99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Crab Thai Restaurant also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
 

Been to Red Crab Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing