We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Red Crab Thai Restaurant
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I've eaten here a couple of times, the flavours and aromas of the food are lovely but the actual taste has always been average. We've found dining in to be slightly better, their food doesn't handle the "takeaway test" very well and is usually soggy. Alright for the occasional meal though I suppose!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EckoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    81
    34
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
waikato
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful View, Beautiful Food”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Menu choices are a nice mix, not confusing or too many choices like a lot of Thai Restaurants. The view is stunning from any table and lovely atmosphere. BYO wine. Meals are large, we didn't have an entree and could have easier shared my meal between us. They do have a small dessert menu, highly recommend the "Molten" chocolate cake but do share this, very large portion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
182 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Authentic Thai Food”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

A nice warm room and spotlessly clean with a good view over Oneroa Bay and of the chefs at work in the open kitchen.

The Thai Crab cakes were a little gelatinous and not so tasty. The Thom Yum soup was excellent,

The Twice cooked duck with vegetables was also excellent. The Pork knuckle was a little fatty and HUGE. The meat (under the fat layer) was melt in the mouth tasty and this dish is meant to be shared amongst 3-4 people I think. It was way too much for me!

some interesting non-alcoholic cocktails at a reasonable price.

Service was excellent and always with a smile and a Wai greeting at the start. As soon as the water glass was nearly empty it was promptly filled.

Worth revisiting to try different dishes.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kotuku123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
396 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Fresh delicious thai food”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Pork knuckle slow cooked and sooo tasty. Duck tender and curry spicy and tasty.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic thai with great service”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had a lovely meal here. Crab cakes were outstanding. Only surpassed by the attendance of the wait staff. They décor was lovely as was the views over the bay.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jnbmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Crab Thai Restaurant also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Red Crab Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing