We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fresh red rose on the table...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fenice

Fenice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waikato New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A fresh red rose on the table...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We loved the understated elegance of this beautiful little place, food and service were excellent We had a pizza to die for and a generous glass of red wine seated at a little table outside....the most romantic setting, balmy sea breeze , the last light of the day and of course that gorgeous fresh red rose on our table! We hope to return very very soon!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c0mmuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    149
    33
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wellington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic authentic Mediterranean-like dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I live on Waiheke Island and was looking for somewhere special to take my two Argentinian guests to dine tonight. I could not have made a better choice!

Fenice lived up to our expectations in every way possible, from great seating and view (I booked in advance) to exceptional service given to us by our very charismatic waiter, Juan (who also turned out to be from Argentina), who, without being in our faces, was attentive and around exactly whenever we needed him throughout the meal.

The food was exceptionally good. We spent just under four hours at the restaurant talking and enjoying an exceptional evening in very ambient surroundings. Highly recommended! Great service, great food, great seating, great ambiance!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank koowellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic menu and lovely service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful relaxed dinner here and were most impressed to find some unusual menu items, which seems hard to encounter these days. The food we ordered was delicious. The wait staff were all fantastic, very helpful, friendly but not in your face. And at the end of the meal, being too full for dessert, they gave us complimentary truffles to take home. It's a great spot, highly recommend!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Local gem and good vegetarian options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

In amongst the high-flyers of Waiheke Island is this little gem that is great value and well worth a visit. The food is good quality and interesting - pizzas, pasta and several mains in Italian style, plus of course Tiramisu, lemon tart and amazing sorbets. I'm not vegetarian but I chose vegetarian dishes and had a baked ricotta starter with mint and peas. Yum. The special was mushroom ravioli and that was also really nice. This is a comfortable convivial rustic style eatery that is easier on the pocket than the notable big players.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A cosy restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

The restaurant offers a great variety of meals and wines. The service is personal and quick. All meals were prepared fresh and in a creative manner - fish as well as pasta or meat. The atmosphere (with an open fire place) is cosy and inviting - absolutely clean. The cooks are young and cook with a lot of phantasy and in an innovative manner. We had no comaplaints at all. We really have enjoyed eating in this little but well lead restaurant and would like to recommend it to couples but also families. In the high season booking in advance is recommended since it can become quite crowded.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fenice also viewed

Oneroa, Waiheke Island
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Fenice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing