We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best tours of our trip”

Waiheke Island Wine Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Catch the 10am ferry from downtown Auckland, cruise the sparkling waters of the Hauraki Gulf and in 35minutes you'll arrive in paradise! Wayne (owner) is our primary guide; Graham, Christine and Geri are also passionate Waihetians! We are the original ‘Waiheke Island Wine Tours’, the first Qualmark-accredited tour operator; we offer professional, fully planned itineraries with all arrangements made on your behalf. Ten clients max in each of our comfortable vehicles with vented air-con and large windows for excellent sightseeing. Enjoy our entertaining scenic tour with full commentary on our early beginnings and island life today. Included are tasting fees for at least 14+ wines at three top vineyards, chilled bottled water, Waiheke Island of Wine Maps, transfers to lunch and then to the ferry afterwards. We operate daily (except Xmas Day, Easter Friday and the odd short break). Privately tailored tours are available by arrangement. No credit card, booking or agent fees - book and pay online - its EASY!
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best tours of our trip”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Wayne was such a pleasure to be with and the great wineries we went to (except for the second one,young women not very friendly and pours were terrible to get a taste for the wine.Forget the name but its the modern one) was the icing on the cake! We got there early and he took us anyway for a tour of the beautiful island.Lucky for us the other couple ended up canceling so we had a private tour of the island to take our time. Wayne knowledge of the island history was an extra bonus, besides knowing all about the wines and so easy going that I wish we had more time to spend there.If planning a trip there I would recommend a tour with them!

Visited March 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank JamieR79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi JamieR79, many thanks for your great review. We work with vineyards that can add to our clients' overall Waiheke Island experiences. Food comes a close second for the day and we were pleased to hear you had an enjoyable lunch too. Hope you can visit our little island paradise again sometime. Regards Jean and Wayne. (PS - we have passed on your comments to the relevant vineyard)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    73
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Discovery Bay, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Waiheke Island Wine Tour”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is the 2nd time I have enjoyed the Waiheke Island Wine tour (first time in 2000'). It was as marvelous as ever.
The wineries chosen was outstanding - especially Peacock Sky - and the res. for lunch at 'Mudbrick' was incredible.

Very Highly recommended tour!!!

Visited March 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear James R, we do appreciate your taking time to return to TripAdvisor to write your review. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your day out with us, topped off by a great lunch at Mudbrick. Cheers! Jean and Wayne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Wayne and Jean have a treat for any wine enthusiast. Our tour guide had a great amount of knowledge about the island and how it has built up over the last 20 or so years. The wineries that we visited were great. Really nice Syrah and some lovely whites. The tour was flexible for lunch choices with restaurants at various wineries available or the choice of a stroll in the island village. Definitely a once in a lifetime experience, however would do it again in a heart beat!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi Claire K, many thanks for returning to TA to write your lovely review. We are so fortunate that the wide variety of wines produced here make for a diverse tasting experience and having a great choice of restaurants and cafes means you can personalise your day through your choice of lunch venue. We were glad to hear you had such a great time and look forward to welcoming you to Waiheke Island again some day :) - cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Waiheke Island Wine Tours - a most enjoyabe afternoon”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our guide, Graham was most delightful and looked after us very well. The island is beautiful and what better way to enjoy the afternoon than by enjoying wines while viewing the fabulous landscape?

Visited February 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank sel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi sel t, many thanks for coming back to TA to write your review. We have passed your feedback on to Graham who was delighted to hear from you. We are so lucky to live in such a beautiful place and it is our pleasure to share it with our guests. Best wishes Jean, Wayne and Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Stoneyridge Winery and restaurant”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This island is beautiful, so green and endless hidden coves. When I win teh lottery , this is where I get teh first holiday home. The Stoneyridge winery have an excellent kinda alfresco restaurant. The menu was limited but the food and service are second to none. We did indulge and try their top dollar wine with teh meal. Rude not to.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank parry005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waiheke Island Wine Tours also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Ostend, Waiheke Island
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Waiheke Island Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing