We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three great wineries and an excellent day”

Waiheke Island Wine Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Catch the 10am ferry from downtown Auckland, cruise the sparkling waters of the Hauraki Gulf and in 35minutes you'll arrive in paradise! Wayne (owner) is our primary guide; Graham, Christine and Geri are also passionate Waihetians! We are the original ‘Waiheke Island Wine Tours’, the first Qualmark-accredited tour operator; we offer professional, fully planned itineraries with all arrangements made on your behalf. Ten clients max in each of our comfortable vehicles with vented air-con and large windows for excellent sightseeing. Enjoy our entertaining scenic tour with full commentary on our early beginnings and island life today. Included are tasting fees for at least 14+ wines at three top vineyards, chilled bottled water, Waiheke Island of Wine Maps, transfers to lunch and then to the ferry afterwards. We operate daily (except Xmas Day, Easter Friday and the odd short break). Privately tailored tours are available by arrangement. No credit card, booking or agent fees - book and pay online - its EASY!
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Three great wineries and an excellent day”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Three wonderful and very different wineries to give myself and my 5 overseas visitors a real taste of what Waiheke has to offer. The food pairing and whole educational value of Peacock Sky was wonderful. Could have stayed there all day and listened to the Vintner and drunk their wonderful wine. I have been several times before but never on an official tour. We learnt so much from Wayne. He was very patient and considerate as my Mother is partially disabled. It meant she could enjoy the day without feeling hassled and a burden.
Cable Bay never disappoints and that was true of this day and Obsidian had a wonderful Montepulchiano. Fantastic! And lunch at Casita Miro just finished off a perfect day. Delicious and fabulous views. Thank you we all had an excellent day.

Visited November 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Clare554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi Clare554, thanks so much for returning to TA to write your lovely review - Wayne had a great day out with your group. He gets a real buzz out of seeing people enjoying themselves and always arrives home happy at the end of his day! Glad to hear that Waiheke was a big hit for your overseas guests.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    75
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best guide & winery tour”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

best guide, best wineries, beautiful setting .... recommend small guided tour vs. going on your own or a larger group.....perfect day!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi Mike, many thanks for your review. Yes a small tour definitely gives a totally different perspective, enabling us to visit the smaller boutique vineyards making wonderful wines and achieving excellent results on the world stage. Glad to hear you had such an enjoyable day out. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Some of the best wineries we have benn to anywhere”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great wineries
Great wine
Great people
We loved the tour guide , perfect timing and duration . Very accomodating. Each winery was carefully chosen . Comfortable travel van. Would highly reccomend !!!!!!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tonylanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi Tonylanier, many thanks for your great review - glad you had a good time out with us - CHEERS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great taste of Waiheke”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband, my cousin and I spent the afternoon with Wayne exploring Waiheke on the Waiheke Island Wine Tour. Wayne was friendly and knowledgeable about the island, the culture and the history of wine and Waiheke. We visited 3 different wineries where we were introduced to several different wines and cordials and left with 6 bottles of wine and a bottle of Lemocello from Peacock Sky (yum!). Peacock Sky does an especially nice wine-food pairing and the gentleman there was particularly knowledgeable about his products. The morning ended with an amazing lunch at the Mudhouse which has spectacular food and views! This was a wonderful way to spend a half day in New Zealand! Highly recommend that you give Wayne a call and spend some time in his paradise! Have one on us!

Visited October 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Lraeray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Lraeray, many thanks for your lovely review of Wayne and our tour. We only work with the smaller boutique (award-winning) vineyards who offer great experiences to our clients, as confirmed by your comments. Glad to hear you had a wonderful time here in paradise!! Best wishes Jean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“A Great Day :-)”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Wayne met the 10am Auckland ferry with a smile and we were off on our great adventure.

An initial drive around the western part of Waiheke with an introduction to the history and geology of the island complemented by lovely elevated vistas.

Our first winery was Jurassic Ridge. Very nice single varietals and my favourites were the Montepulcianos.

Then on to Obsidian Winery with more tastings under a glorious sunny morning.

Our final tasting was at Peacock Sky Vineyard where we were hosted by the charming Italian heritage Montreal lady who fell in love with NZ and moved there. Fantastic complementary food pairings with the wine selections. This was my favourite winery.

We than had a looong leisurely lunch at Casita Miro at Miro Winery serenaded by a live guitarist to then be dropped back at the ferry terminal for our 4pm departure.

Wayne was a gracious, knowledgeable host and I appreciated the fact that he is a long term island resident who obviously has a love of showing the people of the world his special island home.

Highly recommend Waiheke Island Wine Tours and would book with them again in a heartbeat!

Visited October 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffAnnabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hi Geoff, many thanks for your wonderful, considered review - not only for your comments about Wayne but also for your thoughts about the vineyards we visit. It is great to hear you had such an enjoyable day out - sounds like there was a good bunch of people on your tour that day too! Kind regards Jean (and Wayne).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waiheke Island Wine Tours also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 
Ostend, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Waiheke Island Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing