We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out”

Waiheke Island Wine Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Catch the 10am ferry from downtown Auckland, cruise the sparkling waters of the Hauraki Gulf and in 35minutes you'll arrive in paradise! Wayne (owner) is our primary guide; Graham, Christine and Geri are also passionate Waihetians! We are the original ‘Waiheke Island Wine Tours’, the first Qualmark-accredited tour operator; we offer professional, fully planned itineraries with all arrangements made on your behalf. Ten clients max in each of our comfortable vehicles with vented air-con and large windows for excellent sightseeing. Enjoy our entertaining scenic tour with full commentary on our early beginnings and island life today. Included are tasting fees for at least 14+ wines at three top vineyards, chilled bottled water, Waiheke Island of Wine Maps, transfers to lunch and then to the ferry afterwards. We operate daily (except Xmas Day, Easter Friday and the odd short break). Privately tailored tours are available by arrangement. No credit card, booking or agent fees - book and pay online - its EASY!
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a small-group tour to three vineyards for wine tasting. The location is the fabulous Waiheke Island, just a 40 minute trip by ferry from down-town Auckland. Wayne, the knowledgeable tour guide, picked us up at the ferry terminal in a comfortable eight-seater SUV. He gave an unhurried and informative trip around Waiheke Island, and took us to three vineyards. At each we got 4-6 wines to taste, served by a knowledgeable person - two of them owners - about the wines. Time for lunch after (we took Wayne's recommendation), then a drop-off for the ferry trip back to Auckland. An easy and enjoyable day out, with no worries about drink & drive.

Thank metroauck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Metroauck, thanks so much for your great review. As you say, Waiheke is an easy day trip from Auckland and you can enjoy the vineyards at a relaxed pace without having to drive. A nice way to "get away from it all" for a day! Thanks for choosing us. Kind regards Jean and Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"casita miro"
in 76 reviews
"wine tour"
in 117 reviews
"great tour"
in 44 reviews
"local knowledge"
in 31 reviews
"te motu"
in 32 reviews
"small group"
in 28 reviews
"tapas"
in 9 reviews
"cable bay"
in 25 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 15 reviews
"knowledgeable guide"
in 10 reviews
"day trip"
in 25 reviews
"new zealand"
in 36 reviews
"jurassic ridge"
in 15 reviews
"ferry terminal"
in 30 reviews
"our favourite"
in 8 reviews
"food pairings"
in 20 reviews
"kennedy point"
in 22 reviews
Filter

710 - 714 of 820 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had a great girls day out! Driver was very knowledgable about the island in all ways including some local gossip. The wineries we visited were a great variety and ranged for organic to winers favorites. It was a tough call but we choose lunch at mudbrick over cable bay but I am determined to get back to cable bay. Even tried to tip at the end which was refused !
We brought a little loaf of bread with us from the ferry dock and ate it with some great avocado oil we bought on waiheke to keep our heads on straight but not to ruin lunch. Def recommend

Thank Sailkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hi Sailkitty, glad to hear you enjoyed your day out with us. Waiheke certainly hits the spot when it comes to vineyard experiences. Cheers! Jean and Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was absolutely the highligh of our entire vacation to New Zealand and Australia. Wayne is truly first class and his knowledge of the island and the wineries is astounding. You would be cheating yourself if you went with any other tour on the island but this one. I work in the luxury hospitality industry and I know what good and great cusomer service look like and Wayne is truly GREAT!! I can't say enough, you just have to experience it for yourself.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank BrittanyCole1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hi Brittany, many thanks for your lovely review. Wayne enjoyed meeting you guys and it was a pleasure to be included in your honeymoon itinerary. Best wishes for the future, Jean and Wayne :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My tour with Waiheke Island Wine Tours was fantastic - one of the highlights of my holiday and a wonderful way to wrap up two weeks of great food and wine throughout the North Island. As promised, Wayne was waiting at the wharf when the ferry arrived and provided a colourful history of the island as we drove to collect the rest of our party. The chosen wineries provided a great overview of the winemaking process, the art of matching wine and food and a delicious lunch. I was a little worried being a solo traveller but Wayne made me feel very welcome, as did the other group on the tour. .

Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hi Katherine, thanks so much for your delightful review. Wayne very much enjoyed meeting you and showing you around Waiheke Island's beautiful vineyards and sights. We like to encourage singles to come out with us as we both know the challenges of travelling alone - glad to hear you had a great time! Best wishes, Jean (and Wayne).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I had a very enjoyable day in Waiheke. The tour went ahead even thought I was the only booking, and Wayne took me to a range of interesting wineries and recommended a truly wonderful place for lunch (Cable Bay). The scenery is also magnificent, and once the fog cleared even the ferry trip over and back was fun.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Good Morning Nigel, many thanks for your kind words, it was nice to have met you and spend the day with you - always good to see people having such a great time. Cheers! Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waiheke Island Wine Tours also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 

Been to Waiheke Island Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing