We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do!”

Waiheke Island Wine Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Catch the 10am ferry from downtown Auckland, cruise the sparkling waters of the Hauraki Gulf and in 35minutes you'll arrive in paradise! Wayne (owner) is our primary guide; Graham, Christine and Geri are also passionate Waihetians! We are the original ‘Waiheke Island Wine Tours’, the first Qualmark-accredited tour operator; we offer professional, fully planned itineraries with all arrangements made on your behalf. Ten clients max in each of our comfortable vehicles with vented air-con and large windows for excellent sightseeing. Enjoy our entertaining scenic tour with full commentary on our early beginnings and island life today. Included are tasting fees for at least 14+ wines at three top vineyards, chilled bottled water, Waiheke Island of Wine Maps, transfers to lunch and then to the ferry afterwards. We operate daily (except Xmas Day, Easter Friday and the odd short break). Privately tailored tours are available by arrangement. No credit card, booking or agent fees - book and pay online - its EASY!
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was an amazing day. Wayne picked us up at the ferry and started the tour with history of the island. The wineries he picked out were amazing one of which included an organic winery, another with sit down personal service of wines and the third was a wine and food pairing. Finally lunch at at a Spanish restaurant which none of us had ever had spanish food before so it was quite interesting ordering but all the food was very good! Thanks Wayne for a fantastic day with personal service! Not like the big tour buses that we saw.

Thank AlohaGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Aloha Gail! Wayne enjoyed meeting you and showing your round our island paradise. One day we hope to visit yours! Many thanks for taking the time to come back and write your review - cheers,
Jean and Wayne :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 627 of 704 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

We got this tour as a gift and it was nothing short of fantastic. Wayne knew all the local places and people and gave great suggestions for other attractions. Highly recommended!!

Thank Lisarix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Hi Lisa (and AW) - so glad you enjoyed your day out with us. Wayne really enjoyed meeting you and introducing you to Waiheke's lovely scenery and vineyards. The heli-flight is an awesome inclusion with our tour and gives a totally different perspective of the island from the air - lucky you to have been given such a lovely gift! Many thanks for taking the time to come back and write your review. Best wishes for 2013 :-) Jean and Wayne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My family recently went on a tour of Waiheke Island with Wayne - he was a fantastic tour guide. Not only did we learn about the wine made on the island but we also learnt about the history of the island. Very nice weather. The Archery was really fun too.
Thank you very much for organising our tour.
Kaye Dowling

Thank Kaye_Dowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Hi Kaye, it was our pleasure to help you plan your trip six months ahead. By the time the day came, I was almost as excited as you! We are glad you enjoyed your two days with us on Waiheke Island and I know Wayne enjoyed meeting you and your folks and showing them our special places. Kind regards Jean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Back in Dec 2012, my wife and I did a private wine tour. Wayne our guide was excellent. His local knowledge of both the island and wineries made for a perfect day. All of the wineries were first class! We highly recommend this wine tour company.

Thank JK_Sydney_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Hi JK, Wayne remembers you well and thanks you for coming back to Trip Advisor to write your review. He very much enjoyed his day spent with you and also hearing about your lives in Sydney. Cheers and best wishes for 2013! Jean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have recently returned from a holiday that involved a visit to friends in one of our favourite places in NZ, Waiheke Island. We decided to treat ourselves this time with a tour of the vineyards. We obviously chose well by taking a Waiheke Island Wine Tour - Wayne was an excellent host. The tour was more than just visiting 3 excellent vineyards - Wayne's local knowledge of Waiheke added value that we hadn't expected - especially as we have visited the island several times before. Wayne's wise choice of 3 very different vineyards for us to visit, Jurassic Ridge, Kennedy's Point and finishing with a wine and food matching tasting at Peacock Sky was just perfect! We are still enjoying the memories of the tour when we drink the wine we purchased. It really was a perfect day out and a real holiday highlight! Thank you, Wayne.

Thank Sandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Hi SandiB, many thanks for returning to TA to write your review. Wayne remembers your Christchurch stories and enjoyed the opportunity to show you our little corner of paradise. Glad to hear you are enjoying the wines you purchased that day! Best wishes, Jean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waiheke Island Wine Tours also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 

Been to Waiheke Island Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing