We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vineyard and Waiheke tour”

Waiheke Island Wine Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Catch the 10am ferry from downtown Auckland, cruise the sparkling waters of the Hauraki Gulf and in 35minutes you'll arrive in paradise! Wayne (owner) is our primary guide; Graham, Christine and Geri are also passionate Waihetians! We are the original ‘Waiheke Island Wine Tours’, the first Qualmark-accredited tour operator; we offer professional, fully planned itineraries with all arrangements made on your behalf. Ten clients max in each of our comfortable vehicles with vented air-con and large windows for excellent sightseeing. Enjoy our entertaining scenic tour with full commentary on our early beginnings and island life today. Included are tasting fees for at least 14+ wines at three top vineyards, chilled bottled water, Waiheke Island of Wine Maps, transfers to lunch and then to the ferry afterwards. We operate daily (except Xmas Day, Easter Friday and the odd short break). Privately tailored tours are available by arrangement. No credit card, booking or agent fees - book and pay online - its EASY!
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed one night and one day at Waiheke and made the most of it by taking Wayne's tour.
I enjoyed the tour immensely even though I am not a huge wine enthusiast. My husband knows a great deal about wine and had a great time at the three vineyards we visited, but we both enjoyed the informational tour of the island, which we never could have accomplished on our own. We were picked up at our B&B and dropped off at the ferry, so the transportation was effortless. It was a perfect way to spend our precious time.

Thank cop83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Hi Cop83, thanks for your lovely review. As there are so many other interesting aspects to our tour, it becomes more than a regular wine tour and we believe this is one of the reasons people really enjoy going out with Wayne. We are glad you had a wonderful day and appreciate your positive comments, many thanks and happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

645 - 649 of 719 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Waiheke island wine tour appeared to include tastings that included snacks. One windy provided breads and dips but no one had any cheese and crackers - except the last place but we weren't told about it ... The trip. Was lovely, the wines were very nice and the driver was really lovely so the day was really enjoyable. We were just really hungry when we got back! I would've paid for cheese n crackers - and might have bought some wine....

1  Thank KiraBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Hi KiraBeauty. Firstly, thanks for your positive review of Wayne, the wines you tasted, the tour itself and your enjoyable day. We are completely committed to providing excellent service and a tour that our clients will truly enjoy. We are however, concerned that your expectations were so different from what we promote on our website: "only three wineries" - this is exactly what we promise on our website; "appeared to include tastings that included snacks" we are unsure how you came to expect that "snacks" would be provided. Nowhere on our website or in any of our marketing collateral do we promise this. We do promise tastings of avocado and olive oils at one of the vineyards. If snacks are provided, it is purely the vineyard's decision and as we vary the vineyards we visit, we make no promises in this regard; "we were just really hungry when we got back" - for this very reason, after visiting three award-winning vineyards we transfer our clients to the lunch venue of their choice, this is also clearly mentioned on our website. We believe however that you have made a valid point and in our confirmation message from now on we will be advising our clients to eat a hearty breakfast that will keep them going till lunch time. Many thanks for your feedback, welcomed as always. Regards Jean and Wayne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We did several wine tours on our trip to New Zealand in November. This was the best one. Wayne is a great tour guide. He knows the island very well and passed on a lot of knowledge about the history, the flora & fauna, the culture, and the architecture. He picked 3 interesting vineyards. Each with a different personality. All 3 had lovely tasting rooms and views. The food & wine pairing at Peacock Ridge was definitely a highlight and we would never have had stumbled upon that without Wayne's tour!

Thank KimBWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Hi KimBWV, thanks so much for your lovely review. Over our years of operation we have developed excellent relationships with the island's award-winning vineyards and this of course is of great benefit to our clients. We also get a great buzz out of seeing people having a wonderful time and it is a true pleasure for Wayne to share his passion for, and intimate knowledge of the island and its uniqueness. Merry Christmas to you and yours, "Cheers!" Jean and Wayne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Wayne was great: very knowledgable, informative, easy going and fun. The wines were lovely and the whole experience was fantastic.

Thank sammy_j_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thanks for returning to Trip Advisor to write your review, kind regards Jean and Wayne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

After a short ferry ride from Auckland, Wayne was at the jetty to pick us up and we were in a group of 8 persons in total. A drive to different points of view was the start of the trip, which gives you a good idea about the beauty of Waiheke island. We visited 3 wineries in total and all were great in their own way. The first was very informative about the whole process; the second was a good location with very good wines and the third had the biggest show factor with some finger food which allows you to judge the wines with and without food. The lunch location (own account) has an unusual menu but all the food was of great quality and very tasty. It was a very enjoyable day with a good and informative host, which gave me a perfect introduction to Waiheke island.

Thank amvg2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Hi AM, many thanks for returning to write your review. Wayne enjoyed the company of both of you. He gets genuine pleasure from showing people around the island and introducing them to our wonderful vineyards. Hope to see you again some time! Best wishes to you and N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waiheke Island Wine Tours also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 

Been to Waiheke Island Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing