We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wines, great times!”

Waiheke Island Wine Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Catch the 10am ferry from downtown Auckland, cruise the sparkling waters of the Hauraki Gulf and in 35minutes you'll arrive in paradise! Wayne (owner) is our primary guide; Graham, Christine and Geri are also passionate Waihetians! We are the original ‘Waiheke Island Wine Tours’, the first Qualmark-accredited tour operator; we offer professional, fully planned itineraries with all arrangements made on your behalf. Ten clients max in each of our comfortable vehicles with vented air-con and large windows for excellent sightseeing. Enjoy our entertaining scenic tour with full commentary on our early beginnings and island life today. Included are tasting fees for at least 14+ wines at three top vineyards, chilled bottled water, Waiheke Island of Wine Maps, transfers to lunch and then to the ferry afterwards. We operate daily (except Xmas Day, Easter Friday and the odd short break). Privately tailored tours are available by arrangement. No credit card, booking or agent fees - book and pay online - its EASY!
Tauranga
2 reviews
“Good wines, great times!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Wayne was great: very knowledgable, informative, easy going and fun. The wines were lovely and the whole experience was fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank sammy_j_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks for returning to Trip Advisor to write your review, kind regards Jean and Wayne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    588
    75
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Renesse, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Perfect introduction to Waiheke island”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

After a short ferry ride from Auckland, Wayne was at the jetty to pick us up and we were in a group of 8 persons in total. A drive to different points of view was the start of the trip, which gives you a good idea about the beauty of Waiheke island. We visited 3 wineries in total and all were great in their own way. The first was very informative about the whole process; the second was a good location with very good wines and the third had the biggest show factor with some finger food which allows you to judge the wines with and without food. The lunch location (own account) has an unusual menu but all the food was of great quality and very tasty. It was a very enjoyable day with a good and informative host, which gave me a perfect introduction to Waiheke island.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank amvg2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hi AM, many thanks for returning to write your review. Wayne enjoyed the company of both of you. He gets genuine pleasure from showing people around the island and introducing them to our wonderful vineyards. Hope to see you again some time! Best wishes to you and N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“A highly recommended tour on Waiheke”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Many thanks for Wayne's professional and high-quality work, We've enjoyed a great time last month on Waiheke. He picked us up at the wharf, then we visited three fantastic vineyards Mudbrick, Kennedy Point and Peacock Sky. Weather was wonderful, on the way to wineries, Wayne stopped several times at some perfect spots to show us beautiful scenery on the island.And Wayne is very knowledgable, he presented rich history and background information of Waiheke during the whole trip. We also had a nice lunch at Casita Miro. The van was roomy and comfortable, the schedule wasn't tight, so the whole trip was quite relaxed and enjoyable. Because of these wonderful and memorable experiences, Jean & Wayne's Waiheke Tour is highly recommended, and I will definitely visit Waiheke again if there's an opportunity.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Irene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Manager at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hi Irene - wow - what a lovely review. Thanks so much for your commendation. We love what we do and meeting great people like yourself makes it a true pleasure / not like work at all! Cheers and thanks again Wayne and Jean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fabulous day and very informative”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Apart from horrible weather on the ferry ride over the wine tour was definitely a highlight of our weekend trip. The bus driver was knowledgeable and great sense of humour and the wine makers engaging, passionate and knowledgeable. The Mud Brick Wine venue is unbelievably pretty and the other wineries equally lovely in different ways. Rachael Hunter sat behind us on the Ferry over so you never know who'll be on the Ferry when you go!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thanks for coming back to TA to write your reveiw. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A wonderful day on Waiheke”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Wayne picked us up from our accom on the island and we spent an enjoyable day seeing some of the lovely wineries on the island.When I mentioned that I hadn't had a chance to see any art galleries, Wayne called a friend who stayed back late on Friday to let us see her gallery. In addition, he stopped on the way so we could do a little shopping. Wayne is a font of information,and entertained us with stories and anecdotes about the island anjd its history.Ask him to show you the roosters! Highly recommended

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KimLou6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi KimLou6! We appreciate that it takes an effort to come back to Trip Advisor "after the fact" to write your review, so thanks very much for doing that. It is always a pleasure to add on little extras that make a day particularly special to our clients and we were happy to organise the visit to the gallery. Wayne particularly enjoyed meeting you and your friends and showing you around "our place" - kind regards and thanks once again for your feedback, Jean (and Wayne!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waiheke Island Wine Tours also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 
Ostend, Waiheke Island
 

Been to Waiheke Island Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing