We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tour of Waiheke Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of See Waiheke Tours

See Waiheke Tours
Ranked #6 of 27 Tours in Waiheke Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SeeWaiheke Tours caters for private tours, small groups and families. Get away from the large buses and create your own specialised tour.See what you want, when you want to!
Middlesbrough
1 review
“Tour of Waiheke Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Waiheke Island is a very beautiful place. In the past 3 years we have taken a number of employees who have reached the final of the Fletcher Building Health & Safety Excellence Awards to the island in recognition of their endeavours. We have always used a tour company called See Waiheke Tours, they always provide a first class insight of island and have intimate knowledge of its places of natural beauty. Christine who has always been our tour guide has a first class knowledge of the island and its industries such as wine making, bee keeping etc. The visit to Waiheke is always one of the highlights of our finalists' visit to New Zealand and I would say to anyone reading this review, you must see this place of natural beauty.

Richard Walker (Formica Ltd part of the Fletcher Building group)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    11
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience and tour of the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Having been to waiheke before with a group and not used a tour guide I was not sure whether this would be worth the money but from the pickup at the ferry we were taken around all the beautiful hotspots on the island which I would not have seen otherwise by the very friendly and knowledgable Christine. We really enjoyed visiting some of the smaller winery's which felt very personal and Christine catered to our request of taking us to the mudbrick restaurant which I would highly recommend. Would recommend this tour if you want to tour in smaller groups, can be personalised to your needs and get the best out of the views of the island.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank irishnikkig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihekian, Owner at See Waiheke Tours, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words. Excellent that you enjoyed the tour! Waiheke island is such a fantastic place and it is all my pleasure to be able to share it.
A good time all round!
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Keep coming back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Whenever friends and family come to Auckland I book this same tour. It's really easy to do the wineries this way but it makes a big difference having a fun and friendly host like Christine. The last time we were on the tour we were difficult guests with a last minute change of booking, unusual pick up request, special eating requirements and asking for extra stops at the end of the tour..... But nothing was a problem for Christine or Gina who ran the tour. Really recommend booking with them.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaeDoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A relaxing way to see Waiheke Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

If you want to design your own journey on the island but you don't want to worry about finding your way to places, get Christine from See Waiheke Tour is the best choice. My husband and I just had a great day with Christine on Waiheke. She showed us around the island and I could see her passion and love to the place.

We told Christine what we would like to do and she gave us some suggestions before we booked the tour. She was very helpful, accommodating, and flexible. We mentioned we missed the opportunity to have a meal at Mudbrick, and asked her if we can add it to the sightseeing on the day. Not a problem at all. Christine runs extra miles to meet our needs as she managed to borrow a wheelchair to put in her car in case my husband needs it.

If you want to have a relaxing holiday and know more about the place, I would recommend you to have a private tour with Christine!

Helpful?
1 Thank Noisey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Outstanding guide to Waiheke island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Christine Gisby is probably the best guide with whom to visit Waiheke island. She provides a complete service, meeting you at the ferry, showing you unusual corners of the island, sharing with you her deep understanding of the island's natural history, society and culture, and remaining discreet, so that you can enjoy the island in your own way. She is attentive to the particular interests of the visitor and is ready to adapt the tour she offers accordingly. Christine communicates her love for the island and takes pleasure in sharing the best that it has to offer. Hidden beaches, quiet coves, wonderful restaurants, vineyards. You could be in no better hands when spending a day, a week-end, or longer on the island.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ML-Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed See Waiheke Tours also viewed

Ostend, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to See Waiheke Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing