We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch”
Review of Passage Rock

Passage Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: New Zealand, Pizza, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Passage Rock Winery and bistro is set amongst the vines on the Te Matuku Estury. In our relaxed environment you can enjoy our stunning range of excellent Waiheke Wines with tasty freshly prepared food sourced locally where possible. Our Wood Fired Pizza are hand made using authentic Napoli inspired methods, and fresh quality ingredients. we look forward to hosting you. Winter open 7 days in the cellar door and Friday to Sunday for the Restaurant, 11 am to 4pm. Weddings and functions by arrangement.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We chanced upon this place as we got a bit lost in Waiheke and luckily they had a table spare for lunch. Service was excellent, efficient and friendly. Wine tasting was great. Lunch was superb. We left with beautiful wines and a happy family!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    37
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Pizza was yummy, so was the cheese platter. Mains were average and we waited about an hour for them. We ordered the gnocchi, salad and steak. Staff were very attentive and helpful.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Level Contributor
200 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We got in right on 12 o'clock and was super glad we did as the place soon packed out. We were lucky to have a table outside surrounded by reserved signs with people who didn't come until later which meant we had our little area to ourselves. I was impressed at how quickly our drinks, pizza and. Chips came out. The pizza was delicious. We then had a long wait for the lava cake which was equally delicious when it came out. the staff gave us complementary dessert wines to compensate us for the wait. this is a very popular place with families and has a casual relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank p_pebbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“late lunch”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

we ended up at passage rock after a long morning driving around waiheke island and walking to stony batter....we were hungry for small plates and were delighted to find they have refreshing food such as buffalo mozzarella and fried calamari in their menu...just what we craved with a glass of their beautiful crafted wine...i can still taste it in my mouth..yum!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank c0mmuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
133 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Relaxed dining and supurb Wines”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is not a "Posh Stop" but this winery certainly delivers on wine quality and good food. They have forgone the glitz and glamour of some winerys for a true and honest experiance. I cannot get over the wines. We ended up purchasing a case of the Pinot Gris. It is some of the finest i have ever tasted. Absolutely beautiful!
We enjoyed a pleasant lunch sitting under an umbrella next to the vines in a very relaxed enviroment. Our wine host in the tasting room was knowledgeable and very pleasant (sorry i have forgotten his name) even though he was very busy dealing with four of us and a large group of fairly demanding young ones obviously doing "the circuit" from Auckland.
This was a most enjoyable visit and We will definately return here so please do not buy all the Pinot Gris!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ravinon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passage Rock also viewed

Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Passage Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing