We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, charming... and on one of the most beautiful islands in the world”
Review of Heartsong Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heartsong Retreat
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed four nights with Trisha at Heartsong. Our host was friendly and welcoming, the rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean, and as the other reviewers say, the breakfasts and other facilities were fantastic. Trisha gladly provided plenty of advice on where to go and what to do on the island, and Sammy (the dog) took us for a lovely walk along the coast. We had an absolutely fantastic time there and as such cannot recommend it more highly. Thank you Trisha.

Room Tip: If you can stretch to it, go for the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mookiface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 188 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this very special place and Trisha made us so welcome. We stayed at the Cottage which was delightful in every way. The boat house was the perfect place for a swim and to enjoy a glass of wine as the sun went down.
Thank you Trisha for making our stay special.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We are a married couple from the UK, staying in Auckland..........
Had a lovely weekend here, very relaxing, gorgeous place, we would love to live here!
The boat house is great with kayaks and a small rowing boat and life jackets for guests to use, we had a long swim then sunbathed on the jetty.
The breakfast was great and gave us a chance to say hello to the other guests.
Very private rooms with everything you could need..... all toiletries, our own private furnished deck, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, luxury bedding and the fluffiest towels ever.
We felt like part of the family and will hopefully be returning soon.

Waiheke is a gorgeous little island, we would recommend car hire to enable you to see all of the island.
There are lots of restaurants and winery's to explore with lots of gorgeous beaches and stunning scenery everywhere.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank BridgetG916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

What a wonderful place, it was love at first sight! Trish gave us a warm welcome and made us feel at home straight away. Each morning we woke to the best home made breakfast and wonderful coffee. After exploring the island each day we loved coming back to Rocky Bay and its lush flora and charming beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were totally amazed when we arrived at heart song retreat by the beautiful surroundings and views. Also the warmth and genuine care was apparent from the moment we arrived. Nothing was too much for our hostess Trisha. Our stay was to unwind after a busy year and it was so easy. The morning swims, followed the daily superb breakfast on the veranda with its spectacular view. Although we had to be coached into the swimming by Trisha ! We choose to take a quiet path there although we were taken all around this extraordinary island by a dear friend of a friend. There is so much is available to you on this magic island amazing restaurants, many top class wineries to visit , colourful shops to wander through, and the quaintest cinema to attend. Not forget the great walks and water sports on offer. But return home to Heart-song was always to best. We can honestly say this is a special retreat centre and highly recommend it. Mary and David Clark . Melbourne

Room Tip: What ever suits your needs...if you are in and out the cascade room is great. If you are a family th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

If you like Tuis singing you awake; if you like charming, beautifully appointed rooms with soulful touches and glimpses of the sea through nikau palms; if you don't mind plump Kereru imperiously watching you soak in the spa pool; if you enjoy walks around golden headlands and skinny-dipping in private bays; if you want to experience the generosity of New Zealand - you will find it at Heartsong Retreat. Thankyou Trisha for a magical weekend. We loved it.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Phillip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Clare and I had a wonderful time, a combination of very welcoming hosts Trisha and Kay, a room looking out on to lush tranquil gardens and bay beyond. Great care had obviously been taken in the beautifully designed interior to our room and a shower room with a view! We made full use of the kayaks on offer, I don't think they had been on an expedition quite as long as ours before, but a highly recommended way to visit Passage Rock winery by sea and many others I am sure too. The breakfast is delicious we had a vegan version, nothing seemed too much trouble, but what really makes Heartsong stand out is the way such a peaceful, tranquil therapeutic place has been created to refresh all its visitors.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikelandscape h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#2 of 6 in Waiheke Island
108 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#3 of 6 in Waiheke Island
98 reviews
3.3 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#9 of 29 in Waiheke Island
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 29 in Waiheke Island
234 reviews
3 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
274 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kiwi House Waiheke
Kiwi House Waiheke
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartsong Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartsong Retreat

Address: 8 Omiha Road | Rocky Bay, Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Waiheke Island
Hotel Class:4 star — Heartsong Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning property with private beach access, Heartsong Retreat is the ideal place to relax and rejuvenate. Walk down the private path to the beach and a heritage boatshed is the perfect place to relax and read or watch the sunset. Guests have free access to the dinghy and kayaks. Accommodation options include a gorgeous cottage set in private gardens,a self-contained Cabana/studio and the comfortable Kereru and Nikau rooms with private external access. A generous and delicious continental breakfast is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Heartsong Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing