We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“23rd Wedding Anniversary at `Heartsong Retreat`”
Review of Heartsong Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heartsong Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“23rd Wedding Anniversary at `Heartsong Retreat`”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We spent a couple of days / nights here as a surprise Wedding Anniversary treat arranged by my wife.

Absolutely superb location......excellent host (Trisha) and very peaceful......we will definitely be back!!!!!

PS The continental breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninja757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
148
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed in Heartsong for 3 nights in September and it was just so so difficult to leave. Heartsong is a very special place and Trisha makes it all the more so.

Our three kids stayed in the house with Trisha and we stayed in the cottage, which was a double whamy of bliss for us. The decor is divine, the setting sublime. We had everything we needed and more....delic teas in the beautifully appointed kitchen, a deep comfy sofa in front of a large wood burning stove (plus a huge supply of DVDs), a wonderful bed with the most glorious silk-covered duvet, a huge bathroom with a super shower, delightful birdsong bouncing from the most beautiful trees which you can admire from all the windows...

Trisha's breakfasts are legendary and oh how we lingered .... delicious food, great conversation and beautiful views. There is a vast library to consult from the breakfast table and you can easily find yourself exploring all sorts of ways to improve your approach to life....Trisha is an encyclopedia on health and the mind - she will open your eyes if you are so inclined.

We spent our time strolling to the beach, having picnics at the boathouse, exploring the island wineries and blissfull soaks in the hot tub. Trisha also brought us along to the Thursday afternoon tea at the hall....after breakfast had in fact turned into lunch....and then tea!

I wish we were still there!

Room Tip: The cottage is pure perfection
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangaparaoa, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Recently my friend Sarah and I spend a night here at Heartsong, only regret is we didn't stay longer. It's a very beautiful setting, highlights for me were the serenity at the boatshed and soaking in the spa. I'd certainly recommend this place true 'rest'.

Room Tip: Woops, added comment re Fitness centre - and there isn't one. Fitness is taken care of through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne-maree H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Quaint, gorgeous setting. All the mod cons. Full kitchen if you wanted to prepare meals, opportunities for catering also.
Added extras lovely walks, boat shed to ponder in, stunning spa in bush setting.
Friendly service.
Will return

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smartin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My partner and I fancied getting out of Auckland for the weekend and took pot luck with booking the Retreat. First impressions were good. The property is tucked away, off the road down a steep incline, overlooking Rocky Bay, surrounded by lovely trees that over-hang the property. On arrival, we were shown to our accommodation (we had booked the "Cabana" which turned out to be a garage converted into a 1 bed bach/cottage). First impressions were good - nicely renovated space with queen size wraught iron bed, tasteful wooden furniture and cute on suite bathroom (theme was very much white-washed "sea-side" feel but done tastefully). Also came with a very compact kitchenette which seemed to have the basics (nice touches included some interesting complimentary teas and ground coffee sachets with caffetiere). There was also a hot tub which checked out soon after arrival.
So all in all, pretty good but here are some of the niggles -
1. The hot tub is set under trees, down some steps from the main house. It was down to the guests to remove the protective covers before wading in (which we didnt mind) but they didnt seem to be too effective as we found ourselves surrounded by leaves and debris from the trees above. They perhaps need to clean the hot tub more frequently?
2. Hot water (or lack of it!). After turning on the shower, the hot water lasted LITERALLY 3 minutes before it turned stone cold which was barely enough time to wash your body (let alone your hair). There wasn't enough hot water for 1 person, let alone 2 so both in the evening and morning, one of us went without a shower. Given the price of the accommodation, I thought that was un-execusable.
4. Price - my partner and I paid $220 for the Cabana which was on a room only basis. That's approximately the same price you would pay for a room at the HIlton in Taupo and for that, you'd get as much hot water as you need, a much bigger room and probably breakfast thrown in. You would also get Sky TV, room service and wifi plus good knows what else. Not that we needed these but I'm just comparing services versus price here. So would I say the Heartsong Retreat is value for money? No, not really. I get their offering is very different to the Hilton (they are not trying to set themselves up as a hotel but more of a sanctuary where mother nature provides the entertainment - not SKY TV which I get!).
In summary, I'd be more than happy to pay $220 a night to stay at the Heartsong Retreat if the accommodation was that bit bigger (at least more space than to swing a cat), it had enough hot water for at least 2 showers and the hot tub that was clear of debris for guests to use it whenever they wanted. I don't need TV. Honestly!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishyAuckland, Owner at Heartsong Retreat, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
' Thank you for your comments. One of the lovely things about being in a beautiful retreat space is the bush setting- close to nature. And Mother Nature certainly turned on a gusty,blowing Southwester that weekend, so the spa cover ( designed to keep the heat in ) would have been sprinkled with the odd leaf and twig.

Guests love seeing the night sky through the Nikau palms and Pohutakawas and hearing the lap of the sea in the background while soaking in the privacy of the hot pool.

I'm really sorry about the lack of hot water - being on Waiheke, we rely on a califont gas heating system to heat the water for the cabana.
The gas bottle does get checked regularly, but invariably it does run out and this was obviously the case in your situation. I value your feedback which has prompted me to create a small sign in the bathroom inviting guests to call, text or knock on my door should that happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I've been meaning to make comment about Heartsong on Waiheke Island. The location was truly fit for purpose; we wanted to rest and recalibrate and the ambience, quality and pure Zen of the retreat made that all possible. We stayed in the Cottage which at normal rates is quite pricy - so this one is a luxury stay. We were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves the first night so enjoyed amenities like the gorgeous hotpool and the Boatshed, in privacy . You'll also definitely need a vehicle, but Waiheke has some good, inexpensive options.

Room Tip: If you want space and a kitchen, it will have to be the Cottage. The Cabana looked an ok option for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RestnRecreation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orewa NZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband booked us a trip to Waiheke for our 42nd wedding anniversary , he booked the cottage which was lovely,Trisha and Robin were away so did not get to meet them but we did meet Sammie who was a real sweetheart, the cottage was so cute and cosy as it was winter the log burning stove made it warm and cosy, We really enjoyed our weekend but you do need a car to get around. we had dinner reservations at the Mudbrick Vineyard and needed a car to get there. All in all a lovely weekend and we would recommend this place to stay for a romantic break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
4.6 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
3.2 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
3.0 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marino Ridge
Marino Ridge
#6 of 27 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartsong Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartsong Retreat

Property: Heartsong Retreat
Address: 8 Omiha Road | Rocky Bay, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heartsong Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning property with private beach access, Heartsong Retreat is the ideal place to relax and rejuvenate. Walk down the private path to the beach and a heritage boatshed is the perfect place to relax and read or watch the sunset. Guests have free access to the dinghy and kayaks. Accommodation options include a gorgeous cottage set in private gardens,a self-contained Cabana/studio and the comfortable Kereru and Nikau rooms with private external access. A generous and delicious continental breakfast is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heartsong Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing