We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B & B on the island!”
Review of Heartsong Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heartsong Retreat
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best B & B on the island!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a very special place. Trisha Joe is a very warm and efficient host. She has thought of everything. There are very personal touches throughout the entire place. She makes a dynamite breakfast every morning and can give you advice about anywhere you want to go. She has a library of wonderful books in the main house where you have breakfast. I started my days off with a swim on the beach which is right on the property and I was the only one every time. I stayed for 5 nights, 4 nights in the room in the main house and 1 night in the cottage, both were amazing. The spa is very private, natural and beautiful. It feels great to swim in the ocean and then go in the warm and relaxing spa. She has antiques from her grandparents in the cottage and the decor is perfect. She has beautiful antique china tea cups, dishes, etc for your use in the cottage. There is a big wrap around porch with ocean views at the cottage. At night the sound of the waves soothe you to sleep, especially from the rooms in the main house.
And you are close to many of the wineries and bigger beaches and hikes. The place was very clean, spacious and comfortable. A great find!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
148
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Waiheke is expensive and this was the most expensive accommodation of our 8 week trip but it was well worth it. Trisha Joe was very welcoming and she made the best breakfasts in NZ. The studio room is quite compact but has everything you need and is beautifully furnished. There is a lovely patio with views of Omiha Bay over the roof of the main house. We had a great bbq one evening on the patio after returning from swimming off the boat house which is about 100 steps down through the bush. There is a heated spa pool too. Really handy for exploring the island. Great wineries and stunning beaches abound. This is ideal for a romantic break away from it all. The only word of caution is be prepared for mosquitoes. It was fun at first using the mosquito net over the bed.

Room Tip: You have to be able to manage quite a few steps to enjoy the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toffeeman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Heartsong Retreat is, without a doubt, a wonderful place to stay.

Trisha, her husband and their very friendly dog are the most fantastic hosts. Their hospitality started even before we had arrived when we were asked to confirm our arrival time so they could be ready. We had also arrived at a quiet time, so were able to choose which room we would prefer. That was a rather had decision – it was a toss-up between a beautifully positioned, self-contained cabin that had stunning views of the sea or a more modern room, nestled amongst the bush with a huge double-shower that had a full window which made you feel like you were showering amongst the pohutakawa trees. We chose the latter. It was a treat to be able to sit outside and enjoy the natural beauty that New Zealand has to offer. This included the song of a few resident Tui’s .

The room was very clean and tidy, and Trisha provided everything we needed. Each morning, we’d be treated to her homemade museli and yoghurt, both of which are divine! We preferred to eat inside the main house; it was great to chat about what we’d done the day before and what else there was to do on the Island.

Their boatshed is only a very short walk away and well worth a visit. The outlook is beautiful and it is unbelievably quiet. We took a picnic down one night, and just watched the sun set. And if it gets cold, you can always warm up in the heated spa pool.

Heartsong is a really enjoyable place to stay and I hope to go back there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_RGN_1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I spent my surprise 30th weekend at Heartsong in Waiheke and it could not have been better. Beautiful room, beautiful surroundings, extremely welcoming hosts and a perfect retreat from Auckland. We went in October so the weather was hit or miss but the hosts at Heartsong, and the neighboring wineries and restaurants meant that none of that mattered.
I started my 30th with a fantastic home cooked breakfast, a swim in the on site hot pool and a hot stone massage - not bad!
100% recommend. It was very hard to leave!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were given a long weekend away at Heartsong on Waiheke Island recently and it was absolutely wonderful! We stayed in the Cabana which was separate from the main house with a gorgeous view across the bay and a delicious breakfast was included. The main house (where breakfast is served) also has stunning views and the beautiful garden of native trees and palms leads down to the spa pool and a lovely little beach. Above the water sits the boat-shed where you can sit and take in the views, watch the sunsets or just relax and read a book. Trisha was a very congenial hostess and made sure we had everything we needed. Heartsong is a very beautiful and tranquil haven away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and we would highly recommend it. We would love to return someday.

Room Tip: All rooms look gorgeous and have views but the Cabana and the Cottage are separate from the main hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieBy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent a night at Heartsong while visiting Waihiki Island and wish we could have stayed longer. it is a private oasis of calm and beauty where guests are made to feel like special friends. We strolled on the beach, enjoyed a nature walk in the forest coming back to beautiful accommodations and a wonderful home made breakfast enjoyed on the deck with spectacular sea views. Trisha could not have been a more wonderful host. we will definitely return to Heartsong on our next trip to NZ !
J/R Toronto

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful relaxing time enhanced by a lovely setting, enchanting cottage and thoughtful hosts. Loved the breakfast. A great place to spend our anniversary and provide a base to explore the attractions of Waiheke.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PMandPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
4.6 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
230 reviews
3.2 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#4 of 9 in Waiheke Island
180 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
86 reviews
3.0 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
254 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartsong Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartsong Retreat

Property: Heartsong Retreat
Address: 8 Omiha Road | Rocky Bay, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heartsong Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning property with private beach access, Heartsong Retreat is the ideal place to relax and rejuvenate. Walk down the private path to the beach and a heritage boatshed is the perfect place to relax and read or watch the sunset. Guests have free access to the dinghy and kayaks. Accommodation options include a gorgeous cottage set in private gardens,a self-contained Cabana/studio and the comfortable Kereru and Nikau rooms with private external access. A generous and delicious continental breakfast is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heartsong Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing