We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Engaging and Informative Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ananda Tours

Ananda Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$122.41*
and up
Full-Day Waiheke Island Food and Wine Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ananda Tours is a specialist Waiheke Island Tour Company with over 15 years experience in customised, unique tour experiences. We offer personalised, flexible itineraries designed to showcase the best of the Island’s natural beauty, vineyards and art culture. Discover Waiheke Island’s award-winning boutique wineries and locally produced gourmet delights, while enjoying an informed commentary by one of our professional, local guides. Small groups and personalised service ensure you get the most out of your Waiheke experience.Half and full day tours available.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Engaging and Informative Tour”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We enjoyed this tour and the guide (Nick) from the minute we were greeted off the ferry. We were joined in the group by two other couples and were treated with an assortment of postcard views while on way to visiting two distinctly different wineries and an award winning olive farm and pressing facility. The tour allowed for 2 hour lunch on own to enjoy at our leisure. The 5 hour tour, including 2 hours on our own, was a concise and enjoyable way to see the island for the first time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank P N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Hi,
Thanks for coming from Texas to Waiheke Island.
Glad you enjoyed your day with Ananda Tours and thanks for letting others know of your experience via Trip Advisor.
We really appreciate your time and comments.

Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    37
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Brilliant & tasty Waiheke tour”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

What a great way to discover the joys of Waiheke - not just the wine and food but the varying localities (e.g beaches), terrain, history, wine types, multicultural background etc. Our great guide Steve was well versed across all and really went to a lot of effort to introduce us to Waiheke. We met delightful staff at a number of wineries, enjoyed tastings as part of the private tour and enjoyed Steve's easy going informative commentary about many aspects of Island life. Lunch at Mudbrick was beautiful as were the wines and fun staff (pse see other review). It was great to visit smaller wineries like Obsidian, Kennedy Point and Jurassic who take great pride in their wines and deservedly so. It was surprising to hear about the "stuff" that major industrial wineries add to their wines - of course this would be shared but with some education the more unadulterated wines stand on their own. Thanks Steve for a great and really comfortable day!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oneiota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Hi,
Thanks for your favourable review on Trip advisor. Sounds like you had a great day.
The smaller boutique wineries which you visited are some of our favourites too.

Hope to see you back here again soon
Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Gourmet Tour - A great day out in Waiheke”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

A great day out imbibing various wines and some of the tastes. Good company on the tour bus with a small group (c.9 people) and an excellent local guide.
First was the olive oil tasting which was very good - at least as good as the wine tasting. I would recommend you include this as part of your visit.
Then on to Peacock Sky where we tasted various colours and varieties with a titbit of food to accompany each to indicate food/wine compatibles - excellent.
Next was Kennedy Point - an organic wine producer - more great wine - oysters to die for. And a view over the water from the hillside.
Then onto Stoneyridge for tasting and lunch - wines good and food good but felt more commercial and rushed. I would perhaps try somewhere else another time.
There is a big choice of tour operators and I would certainly recommend this tour. The process to book was simple and efficient. Picking up the tickets was not a problem. Catching the feryy was easy and trouble free.
Would I go again? Yes.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank VacatEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“One of the best wine tours in NZ!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We really enjoyed the Essence of Waiheke Wine Tour. Both of us have been on a few wine tours in NZ and in Australia and thought this was one of the best. In particular the wine and food match at Peacock Sky gave it quite a point of difference. Ivan, the viticulturist, at The Batch imparted the flavour of New Zealand in the relaxed style of delivery but was very informative while also making you feel right at home.

The selection of lunch venues was excellent and we were spoilt for choice. The food at Te Whau was a taste sensation to be experienced.

This was a well organised tour, with very prompt reliable booking including the ferry tickets and Paul was a very enjoyable driver and guide with interesting facts delivered in a humerous way.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
173 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fabulous day with Jude!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

8 of us spent the day with our Ananda driver & guide, Jude. She was first class in every way. We visited 3 wineries, Stoney Ridge, Kennedy Point, Joirassic Ridge & Mudbrick (where we had lunch). This tour was excellent. Highly recommend it for those visiting Waiheke Island, which we have labeled as the "Capri of Auckland!"

Thank you Jude & Ananda!

Howard & Carol Petrea

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ananda Tours also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Ostend, Waiheke Island
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Ananda Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing