We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh what a wonderful day!”
Review of Ananda Tours

Ananda Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$122.03*
and up
Full-Day Waiheke Island Food and Wine Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ananda Tours is a specialist Waiheke Island Tour Company with over 15 years experience in customised, unique tour experiences. We offer personalised, flexible itineraries designed to showcase the best of the Island’s natural beauty, vineyards and art culture. Discover Waiheke Island’s award-winning boutique wineries and locally produced gourmet delights, while enjoying an informed commentary by one of our professional, local guides. Small groups and personalised service ensure you get the most out of your Waiheke experience.Half and full day tours available.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Oh what a wonderful day!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Went on the Gourmet Tour with my husband and 2 friends on Saturday and absolutely loved it! Our guide, Nick, was knowledgeable and entertaining, he made himself available to answer any questions we had but wasn't intrusive and let us have a good natter among ourselves too. The tour itself is really well set up, plenty of time at each vineyard and because it is the Gourmet Tour you also get the benefit of snacks at each place you go!

The Olive Oil Mill was a wonderful way to start the day and it was fantastic to learn more about how the Olives become Olive Oil!

We had a great time and would happily go back and do it all again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rhi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    37
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of our favorite days in New Zealand!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Ananda Tours offered the perfect day of wine and food on Waiheke Island. We caught the 10:00am ferry from Auckland Central and enjoyed quite a beautiful ride to the island. Nigel was there to greet us at the ferry terminal and ushered my husband and I and another couple to his clean and professional van. Before heading out to the wineries, Nigel gave us a brief history of wine making on the island; his knowledge is quite vast and it's evident that he loves what he does. As we drove from vineyard to vineyard we got to see some absolutely stunning views of the vines and the water. We visited Stonyridge Vineyard, Kennedy Point Vineyard, Jurassic Ridge, and Mudbrick Winery. The staff at Kennedy Point was excellent and even took our tasting session out of the cellar door into the vineyard to explain the spring pruning process. We had not decided on a lunch location prior to the tour and took Nigel's suggestion of dining at Mudbrick. Oh, it was heaven! I would highly recommend having the platter lunch. The view, the food, and the accompanying wine made for one of the most memorable lunches we've had.

Thank you, Ananda Tours, for taking us on a fantastic tour of Waiheke Island. We can't wait to return!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Boykos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Waiheke Island Wine Tour”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A group of 8 of us had a perfect day out last Sunday, arranged by Ananda Tours to visit the quaint island of Waiheke, near Auckland. After a 25 minute ferry ride away we were greeted by the very friendly Paul, who was our professional and very entertaining tour guide. He took us to 4 wineries where we had tastings and a short tour where possible and ended with a lovely lunch. He did his best to make sure we had the best table and made sure we were back to catch our ferry back to Auckland with ample time. We were just sad that we couldn't stay longer! The ladies whom we dealt with with the booking were very pleasant and most accommodating and helpful.
A perfect Sunday. Thank you from all of us.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Day..Great Company..Great Scenery!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I organised a private wine tour for 27 of my friends for my 30th Birthday through Ananda Tours. Brooke and Jenny were soo helpful and lovely through the process and made it so easy! They were so flexible with everything and gave recommendations.

We visited 4 wineries inclusing Cable Bay / Goldie Vineyard / Stoneyridge and Obsidian and they were all fantastic and all but Stoneyridge I hadnt visited before.

Grant and Steve were our tour guides and they were real characters. We all had a lot of fun with them. Buses were great and they did multiple pick ups for us.

We had platters for lunch at Stoneyridge which were delicious! And also the owner gave me a free glass of La Rose wine it was devine!!! Felt very spolit.

Weather was fantastic on the day. Overall a wonderful experience and we all had the best time.

I would recommend to anyone this is actually my 4th wine tour on waiheke that I have done and by far the best!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mindymuriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
“Book with Ananda Tours!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Ananda Tours were wonderful, it was easy to send through an enquiry from their website and the response was quick. Trying to organise a hen's party seemed daunting at first, but after contacting Ananda Tours, everything ran smoothly, they were flexible so I could tailor the day around three particular vineyards of my choice and provided advice along the way.There were no problems at all adding in an extra person with only a couple of days notice before the day either. On the day, we were greeted with a smile by Paul at the ferry dock, who then explained the history of the island and told a few lovely stories while driving us around Waiheke. He was the perfect guide, friendly, great company but not too intrusive. We also had a girl who was arriving on a later ferry, Paul made sure that it was no hassle whatsoever to pick her up along the way to our last vineyard. I would love to do another tour and will definitely be booking through Ananda Tours again! Impeccable customer service. Thank you so much!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yuko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ananda Tours also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Ostend, Waiheke Island
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Ananda Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing