We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour! Personal touch!”
Review of Ananda Tours

Ananda Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$138.42*
and up
Full-Day Waiheke Island Food and Wine Tour
More Info
$306.76*
and up
Private Waiheke Scenic Wine and Art Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ananda Tours is a specialist Waiheke Island Tour Company with over 15 years experience in customised, unique tour experiences. We offer personalised, flexible itineraries designed to showcase the best of the Island’s natural beauty, vineyards and art culture. Discover Waiheke Island’s award-winning boutique wineries and locally produced gourmet delights, while enjoying an informed commentary by one of our professional, local guides. Small groups and personalised service ensure you get the most out of your Waiheke experience.Half and full day tours available.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

After first asking our hotel concierge about Waiheke wine tours, and not goetting much useful information, we decided to rely on the Trip Advisor research I had done before leaving home. We made a last minute booking with Ananda Tours the morning we arrived in Auckland. The owner Jenny was very accommodating, willing to work with our need to get 4 ladies showered and alert before heading to the island. It was a Sunday, not too crowded, and I knew we made the right choice as soon as we landed and I saw lots of people getting on very large tour buses.

Jenny took us to her large comfortable van, and off we went, making stops as needed for us to photograph the beautiful scenery. We went to three wineries (Mudbrick, Obsidian, and Stony Ridge) and elected some gallery and shopping time over the possible fourth winery as we were "hitting the wall" of jet lag.

Jenny was very knowledgeable, friendly and personalized the tour to our tastes. Having noticed that we were intrigued by the local birds, she stopped in at the rooster colony in a local park, knowing that we would find it very entertaining. All four of us loved everything about the tour, Jenny, and Ananda Tours. Don't hesitate to make this booking!

Thank Lynn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hi,
I'm always amazed at people like yourselves who arive in Auckland after an all night flight and arrive on Waiheke the same day ready to explore!!
Congratulations. Glad you came.
It always makes the day fun to match up your interests with what we have to offer on the Island.
We love being flexible.
Hope your conference went well.
Cheers
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
There are newer reviews for Ananda Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 350 of 431 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

We made a last minute booking to join a wine tour with Ananda & we had a great time.
Friendly guide/owner Jenny went out of her way to make sure everyone was comfortable, knew where we were heading next & why, and was happy to meet any specific requests.
We had a great day, met some lovely people & thoroughly enjoyed the local knowledge Jenny imparted along the way. Highly recommended, excellent value for money.

Thank DanielleDevonport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hi,

It sure was a great fun day we had last weekend.
I havent laughed so much for a long time and I was the driver!
You make my job easy.!!


Cheers
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Thanks Ananda for a fantastic day visiting four great wineries on Waiheke. The weather turned it on for us and Nigel's wealth of knowledge on Waiheke History, along with his obvious expertise in all things wine, really enhanced our day out. If you are after a personalised and informative wine tour on Waiheke, don't look any further than Ananda Tours..

Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hi,
Thanks for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor viewers.
During our 13 years operating a family owned tour company on the Island, our drivers have gained a vast knowlegde of all things Waiheke which of course includes wine!!
I'm glad that you enjoyed Nigel as your guide for the day. He certainly enjoyed taking you out and sharing his knowledge with you. Thanks for coming to the Island.

Cheers
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I was looking for a tour for Waiheke and my hotel concierge recommended Ananda. I agreed, bought the ferry ticket the next morning, and off we go. I was greeted at the ferry by the tour guide. Our guide, who I can't recall his name was super friendly and had lived on the island for 30 years.

We stopped at an olive oil place first and had a great tour and tasting. Following that we had 3 wineries and a stop off for lunch. The commentary and the hospitality shown at each tasting was fantastic. This was by far one of the best tours I've ever taken.

I really appreciate the fact that there were only 7 of us on the tour, and they keep the sizes very small and intimate.

Thank drb671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hi,
Thanks so much for your trip advisor review of our tours on Waiheke Island. I'm delighted you had such a great experience.
All our drivers live on the Island and love to show visitors "their" Island!!
We have a wonderful selection of vineyards and alot of great wines. Glad you were able to enjoy them and to take home so happy memories.


Cheers
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We visited Waiheke Island on a perfect day, with warm sunshine and blue skies. After being met at the ferry by the Aroha Tours guide, we visited three wineries, stopping for a delicious lunch at Mudbrick. We particularly liked the wines at Jurassic Ridge, and bought a couple of bottles to bring home. Our guide was friendly and obviously loves to share the beauties of the island with visitors. Everything was taken care of - all we had to do was relax and taste the wines. And when we needed a solution to protecting the bottles we'd bought, our guide took us to a store in town where we could pick up a couple of "wine skins" (which worked perfectly). Problem solved.

Thank AmandainVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Hi,
Thanks for your review.Glad you found the tour relaxing and informative and your guide willing and happy to "go the extra mile" to make your day enjoyable.
We have a great team of guides all of whom have lived on the Island for many years,
and still passionate and happy to share their knowledge with visitors like yourselves.
Thanks for coming to Waiheke.

Regards
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ananda Tours also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 

Been to Ananda Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing