We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best wine tour in NZ”
Review of Ananda Tours

Ananda Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$126.65*
and up
Full-Day Waiheke Island Food and Wine Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ananda Tours is a specialist Waiheke Island Tour Company with over 15 years experience in customised, unique tour experiences. We offer personalised, flexible itineraries designed to showcase the best of the Island’s natural beauty, vineyards and art culture. Discover Waiheke Island’s award-winning boutique wineries and locally produced gourmet delights, while enjoying an informed commentary by one of our professional, local guides. Small groups and personalised service ensure you get the most out of your Waiheke experience.Half and full day tours available.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The best wine tour in NZ”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Seriously, this is the best wine tour on Waiheke Island. Ananda Tours is much more personalised than the larger tours and Grant (our tour guide) was outstanding!! We went to some fabulous winery's the day flew past so quickly. Thank you to Grant and Ananda for a fabulous day! Love love triple love!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tonikasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Love you too.!
Great to hear you had such a fun day out with Grant.
We are lucky to have such a wonderful, knowledgeable team of drivers, all of whom are passionate about Waiheke and the wines. We also have great people working in the vineyards sharing their knowledge of wine. Many of the owners are present at the cellar doors which makes for an inspirational and educative wine experience.
Thanks for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor readers.

Kind regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    37
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First class day out”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had a 17 hour stopover and deliberately chose this excursion. What a great way to spend the day. The ferry ride over is exciting - sort of like taking the ferry through Sydney Harbour but bigger and better. The island is a paradise of greenery, trees, and laid back lifestyle. The tour was really worthwhile, and gave us look at various parts of the island and its lifestyle. We met great people, enjoyed first class wines (the reds from Waiheke are a barely discovered gem), and the lunch was the 'a la carte' option at Mudbrick which is a Michelin star sort of place.

The last time I had a tour at this level, it was a winery then pintxos private tour in San Sebastian. Ananda tours on Waiheke is a first class day out.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Overrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi,
Thanks for planning your travels to include our "still being discovered" Island of wine.
The vineyards are about quality rather than quantity as you discovered.
Thanks for sharing your experience and being so generous in praise about our tours.
We really appreciate it.
Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice wine tour”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Really enjoyed this day--wonderful ferry ride out from Auckland CBD for 40 minutes. Great views of the harbor and city. Arriving on the island there is a nice cafe serving pastries and good coffee. The pick up was easy-bus around this very pretty island that is filled with wineries. The owners sometimes run the tasting room themselves and are very friendly. Finish the day with luch at one of the wineries overlooking the seaway back to Auckland. Wines were quite good--better than I expected and compare favorably to California.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank plhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our tours on Trip Advisor. We too love going to different wine regions as they tend to have beautiful scenery and its great to discover new wines to enjoy.
I am pleased your trip to the Island was enjoyable and sounds like it exceeded your expectations.


Kind regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
“Hens do extravaganza!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Well organised, good value for money, great communication from organisers and a beautiful day. Highly recommend to any other people planning on doing this as a Hens do.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sophyjophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hi,
Glad your group had a fun day on the Island and all the planning paid off.
Thanks for taking the time to let others know of your satifaction with our tours and the organisation which goes on behind the scenes.
Hope the wedding goes well too.

Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Well worth it.”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I took the half day wine tour of Waiheke Island with NIgel as our guide. We had a wonderful time, visiting 3 wineries and lunch with a wine tasting. Nigel was well informed about not only the wines, but also the Island we were not rushed at any of the wineries, given time to ask questions, buy, and look around to take pictures. We also got very lucky with the weather, the only sunny day we spent in the Auckland area. I would highly recommend taking one of the Ananda tours, while in the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tina3620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Manager at Ananda Tours, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thanks for sharing your experince of our tour and our Island with others on trip advisor.
Glad you were lucky with the weather as spring time is certainly variable.
Our vineyards produce a wonderful selection of hand made wines with many of the owners present at the tastings rooms so you can also enjoy their wine passion and knowledge.
Kind regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ananda Tours also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Ananda Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing