We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“silver lining on a cloudy day”
Review of Ananda Tours

Ananda Tours
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$125.70*
and up
Full-Day Waiheke Island Food and Wine Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ananda Tours is a specialist Waiheke Island Tour Company with over 15 years experience in customised, unique tour experiences. We offer personalised, flexible itineraries designed to showcase the best of the Island’s natural beauty, vineyards and art culture. Discover Waiheke Island’s award-winning boutique wineries and locally produced gourmet delights, while enjoying an informed commentary by one of our professional, local guides. Small groups and personalised service ensure you get the most out of your Waiheke experience.Half and full day tours available.
malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“silver lining on a cloudy day”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

we came from malaysia for our son graduation at the uni.of auckland on the 2.oct.2012 and decided to take a short trip to lake waiheke on the 8-10-12.It was raining the whole morning and after a rough ferry ride due to the strong winds ,we were greeted by a warm and charming lady called jenny.
Due to the off holiday season there were only 3 of us in the holiday coach and i must thank Jenny
very much for being such a good and accomodating guide.we have truly enjoy the new Zealand hospitality at its best and eventhough it was raining throughout our tours ,jenny never let it dampens our spirit and instead tries her best to cover as a many as possible all sight-seeing destinations as promised.
Later i learned that jenny is in fact the owner and we felt honoured to be hosted by the "Boss"
herself.Once again a big 'Thank You" and may your business continues to prosper and keep you in good health.

Richard,janice bryan.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
You must be very proud of your son and what he has achieved studying at University in Auckland.
Thankyou for coming out to the Island on a day when the Auckland certainly wasnt very pleasant..
The up side of a wet day is there are less people at the venues and everyone has lots of time to talk you and answer your questions.
We are a team of locals who have lived on the Island many years and love sharing our local knowledge both of the Island and the wine.
Ananda Tours celebrated 13 years this Labour Weekend.!!
Thanks for being part of our journey and sharing your experince with others.
Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    37
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Friendly, Fun, and Informative”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My trip was unfortunately scheduled on a day with unpreferable weather and changes were impossible due to specific reasons. However, Jenny was still able to provide a tour exceeding our expectations and turned a gloomy rainy weather into a "pleasant and blissful" mood. Everybody throughout the tour were very warm and friendly. The tour was accomodated to our preferences and taste. It felt like a personalized tour designed for everybody's happiness. We had wine tasting in Kennedy Point and Peacock Sky. I was surprised as I had thought wine tasting would be quite similar even in different vineyards. They had, in fact, quite uniquely different characteristics and information. We had lunch at Stonyridge and the ambience was as perfect as the food. I would definitely recommend ananda tours as a must do to anyone visiting New Zealand. The true definition of New Zealand is great wine and fine dining, and there is no where better than to experience it in Waiheke Island, following Ananda Tours. One can only say they have been to Auckland, New Zealand, when they have experienced Waiheke Island through Ananda Tours.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BryanSeeTho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Manager at Ananda Tours, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hi,
It was great to show you and your parents some of the vineyards on the Island.We are rich for choice in the selection of vineyards we can visit and Im glad you enjoyed those you went to.

Kind regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Nigel gave me the best tour of my life. It ended up that I was the only one on the tour for the day. I have never been so well looked after or given such an informative and enjoyable tour of the island and its wineries. Ananda Tours is a family run business who have been on Waiheke Island for over 30 years. From what I have seen they have great relationships with the wineries and aim to make every trip unique. I recommend anyone that comes to Auckland to book Ananda tours for a great winery experience. I also had the chance to meet Jenny on another tour and she was just lovely.
Thanks for the experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi,
Thanks for your kind review. Nigel enjoyed being with you and its aways great to be able to tailor a tour to suit the special interests of each person.

Hope to see you again some time soon.

Cheers
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
135 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A very good guide”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Upon reaching Waiheke after a rough crossing we were met by Steve.

We were the only people he had that day and it was wonderful. The wineries he took us to were an excellent selection and suited our tastes precisely. Damage was done to the credit card but thanks to Steve we shall drink the wine at home and reflect on our day with him on the island.

As far as i am concerned this is the only guide to book for Waiheke

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank fivestarsandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi,

Great that you have taken the time to write a review on Trip Advisor to let others know how you enjoyed your day with Steve. He is a long time local with a passion and knowledge of Waiheke and the Island's beautiful wines.
Im sure the wines you purchased will bring back many happy memories.
Thanks
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Burilliant”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I booked this tour as part of a two week trip to the North Island .My husband is not a lover of wine so we felt that this tour which involved food tasting would suit us better than one which involved visits to wineries only. We were met at the ferry by Nigel who quickly ascertained that my husband was far more interested in a tour of the island than partaking in wine tasting.He was a mine of information and managed to adjust the tour to meet both our needs.During the day my husband became quite unwell (he has a medical condition) and Nigel was brilliant .He took us immediately to a clinic and consequently for blood tests .He then arranged for us to return to Auckland on an earlier ferry. We were very grateful for the care and consideration shown to us I cannot recommend this tour more highly .If we had been in a large group it would have made this a very unpleasant experience

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi,

Im glad Nigel was able to provide suitable care for your husband whilst he was on the Island and even better that you were both able to continue your travel together in New Zealand.
Thanks for taking the time to write on Trip advisor , as Im sure other people will be reassured by your experience.

Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ananda Tours also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 
Ostend, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Ananda Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing