We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable & peaceful haven.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waiheke Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
View43 & Citylights
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A comfortable & peaceful haven.”
Reviewed March 29, 2011

If your favourite views include concrete and glass and you prefer the noise of traffic to peace and quietness interrupted by native bird calls, this place may not be for you. For us it provided a brief escape from our Christchurch earthquake aftershocks and what a place to do it. The day and night views across the sea to Auckland, the comfort of our accomodation, the close proximity of cafes, beach & ferry terminal all contributed to a very pleasant stay, and you'd walk a very long way to find a more warm and genial lady than owner Dawn. We also had a memorable (evening) meal at Cable Bay vineyard where the views, food, service and general ambience were excellent. If you are looking for somewhere for a special evening, try this one.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristchurchDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    34
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
109
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We recently stayed at Citylights for two nights, and can safely say we'd love to go back as soon as possible. The accommodation is just as descibed - if not better. The decor is trendy yet cosy, the space well-appointed, and genenrally everything has been thought of.
The views back to Auckland city are nothing short of stunning, but for a change of outlook, you only need poke your heard around the corner for magical views over Oneroa Beach and beyond. It's the most peaceful and relaxing place we've been in a while, but it's also an easy walk into the village (5 mins) if you feel like something different. We definitely recommend this place - you'll be delighted.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanNZ78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2011

View 43 is a lovely retro type of property located with views to dream about. Open up the huge doors that lead onto the deck, put on the music, pour a wine and ponder! The house is very well set up with everything that you go to get from home is there. Lovely platters, wine glasses, assortment of serving dishes and fantastic accessories. The towels are nice, the sheets and bedding are great. Ample supplies for colder days, or for taking towels to the beach. Simple design, but works extremely well. An easy stroll to the shops and cafes and bars if reserves get low. Lots of information on hand and "history" of Waiheke which allows you valuable info for a day out.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zandstra2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Dawn ,the most obliging owner, has put a great deal of thought and expertise into this accomodation. The use of Retro fittings adds a charm to the place and a sense of homliness. Its is clean and everything is provided , right down to hats umbrellas and beach towls.
The view from the main house View 43 is sensational being over the ocean and nearby islands and the Citylights 1 bedroom unit at the rear looks over the lights of Aucklnad. The accomodation is light and airy and is perfectly set up for the traveller. Location, a short walk from shops and restaurants, and the attention to detail made our stay memorable. We will most definitely recommend to others and return ourselves.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gdwellershill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We spent 13 days with our children and grandchildren using both city lights and view 43. They are both modern and beautifully presented. Dawn ensured all age groups were comfortably catered for. The fanatasic views ensured that we sat and relaxed, and we loved been close to all amenities. We can highly recommend these properties for a fantastic, well balanced holiday.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Railton1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Citylights, great location, very modern ,magical views, relaxing and private, all one needs and more.
Minutes from village , beaches, eateries and vineyards.
Special touches appreciated.
Definitely will return.
Thanks Dawn for the time to heal.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dol34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2011

View 43 is brilliantly located near to beaches, great walks, restaurants and vineyards. It is light, contemporary and extremely comfortable. The views are wonderful. The owner, Dawn is very helpful and friendly and the apartment has a personal feel. This is a great place to stay to enjoy the island and we loved every minute!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiheke Island
2.3 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.8 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.7 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to View43 & Citylights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about View43 & Citylights

Property: View43 & Citylights
Address: 43 Tiri Road, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch stunning sunsets, unparalleled vistas of the Hauraki Gulf in refined yet unpretentious luxury. Soak up tranquility and ambiance in this special place nestled on the ridge of Oneroa. Unique setting, extensive courtyards and decks, outdoor shower, cozy fire. Two bedrooms, quality linen(Queen bed, two singles) sleeps four. Home theatre Telephone Gas Fireplace Fully equipped kitchen, bathroom,laundry Tea,coffee Electric barbeque, outdoor furnishings Private heated outdoor shower Landscaped gardens Parking Massage therapist ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing