We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to details that turn ordinary to extraordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Christchurch
1 review
“Attention to details that turn ordinary to extraordinary”
Reviewed August 27, 2008

I contacted the lodge directly for a romantic weekend away with my partner. From the first contact Marilyn and Keith's attention to detail came through. They booked restaurants for us and ensured we got a complimentary glass of reserve wine at the restaurant. Keith drove us to our destinations when possible and both Keith and Marilyn shared their local knowledge to ensure we had a great time.

The Lodge is magnificent, with an eye to detail and luxury. Each room is quiet and private with everything you would need including a wine and port as part of the turn down service.
The lounge area is friendly and informal and encourages relaxing.

I was impressed at the eco-friendliness of the house while maintaining a modern luxury. It was the perfect blend and showed me that being environmentally conscious does not mean going without luxury.

As hosts Keith and Marilyn were super attentive but never imposing. A great place which we will visit again.

  • Liked — attention to detail from the hosts
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nzodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
129
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Despite only staying one night we were treated like royalty by the best hosts we have experienced yet. Not only that, the lodge was immaculately presented and the facilities and ammenities were first class. Attention to detail was faultless and while Keith and Marilyn made themselves available at all times they were in no way intrusive to our privacy. The hosts are genuinely welcoming and the lodge is well sited in terms of access to the beach, local shops, vineyards and restaurants. Their own home prepared breakfast / catering was also absolutely delicious.
As this was our first visit to Waiheke Island they suggested some exciting things to do and see and were also very knowledgable about local restaurants and vineyards - going out of their way to arrange for a special dietary requirement at our choice of restaurant.
We were reluctant to leave and would definitely recommend this lodge as a great retreat from the rigours of everyday life.
Many thanks again, you are great!
Mish and Mark, Auckland, NZ

  • Liked — personal attention but not intrusive to privacy
  • Disliked — Couldn't fault the property or service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mish-and-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Booked a weekend in Waiheke for our anniversary a few weeks back not knowing it would be the weekend of a storm! However, a lovely weekend still all because we chose Breakfast on the Beach. A beautiful setting literally a stones throw from the beach in an amazingly built home and grounds. Even when the power went down for 9 hours, Marilyn and Keith bent over backwards for us making us a beautiful meal. My partner and I agreed it was one of the nicest nights we've had in a long time - a candlelit meal in a beautiful home right beside the beach. Highly recommended - professional, but personal at the same time.

  • Liked — Customer service
  • Disliked — Storm, but that wasn't their fault!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WkendAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2008

I can't recommend Breakfast on the Beach highly enough. It will blow away forever any negative notions you might have about B&Bs as dingy old homes run by quirky people with cats. I don't know if Keith and Marilyn have a cat (didn't see one) but I do know that Breakfast on the Beach is brand-new and stunningly beautiful - designed from the ground up by K&M, all light, glass, space and high ceilings - - that the breakfast is fabulous, the rooms (all with full view of the beach and harbor across the road) are spacious and beautiful, and that Keith and Marilyn are the world's most delightful and attentive hosts - cocktails (great Waiheke wines) with them is like having a drink at home with old friends. Plus they'll pick you up and drop you off at the ferry terminal. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank HarrisonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2008

We went over to Waiheke Island intending to stay just one day,and ended up staying for three! We were lucky it was winter because I'm sure it must be booked out in summer. The units were most comfortable and with under floor heating (not just in the unit, but also under the tiles in the ensuite) We were met at the ferry by Marilyn And taken to the Lodge, after a brief stop at the main shopping area to let us have a look around at the various shops. The Lodge is very new and they are still working on planting and landscaping. All the 4 units are on the ground floor and face out to the sea. Lovely to sit inside and just watch the ocean view. The fridge was well stocked and there was complimentary cofee and tea with the coffee plunger and teapot. The large TV , CD player and DVD player plus the comfortable lounge suite gave us all the incentive to stay inside. But the walks around the beach also called. In summer there will be the added incentve of kayaks and swimming. Also on the ground floor was a communal lounge, beautifully furnished, a well stocked library, with many modern books, CD's and DVD's plus broadband internet computer. The ding room also overlooked the sea, and we had a chose of eating in our unit or in the dining room. In summer it will be lovely to sit out side.There is an outside spa pool But as we had not brought our swimming togs, Marilyn closed the shutters around it and we strolled out in the lovely dressing gowns provided,--Bliss.Both Marilyn and Keith are the friendliest hosts and always available when we wanted anything . On the 2nd day we were lucky to meet their son Richard (boy, is he tall!) And he kindly gave us a tiki tour of the Island. We were so impressed with our stay that we have already booked for another 3 days in December. Jean and Ben

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank coulsonpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland new zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2008

we really loved our 46yr wedding anniversary were my husband dave surprised me with this breakfastonthebeach waiheke island break.
we were warmly welcomed and loved our room that had a vase of red roses, & a bottle of champange what a lovely thought . we had happy hour every night served with delicous nibbles we also loved the turn-down of the bed nightly & the tray of delightful treats.we felt truly pampered our hosts marilyn and keith graham couldn't have done anymore to make us feel so...special

the breakfasts were just out of this world ,and really set us up for the day ahead.

a tremendous location, close to beach,shops, walks, wine estates & restaurants, cafes.etc.
Plenty to see and do for all tastes on beautiful waiheke island !!!!!

  • Liked — Hosts & Luxury.pampering cleanines, food and wine choices, island location beach
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank leighdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2008

My wife and I spent a delightful long weekend as guests of Keith and Marilyn in their recently established lodge on Waiheke. Even before Keith picked us up at the wharf after the short ferry ride from Auckland Marilyn had already made bookings at the three best restaurants on the island: no need for us to even think about it. Golf: "please use our clubs and trolleys"; "oh, you liked the lavender soap in the bathroom; I have called the lavender lady to get some more for you" etc ... they could not have done a finer job of making our stay relaxed and pampered. I can't think of any facility they haven't thought of and provided. The breakfasts are stunning, but to top it all when the island had an hour or so power outage on our final morning Marilyn still managed to produce a three course breakfast using the barbecue!! I can unhesitatingly recommend BOTB to all.

  • Liked — The hospitality of the hosts.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DazzlerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiheke Island
1.4 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
230 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
90 reviews
14.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
86 reviews
1.3 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
254 reviews
1.8 mi away
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
#7 of 9 in Waiheke Island
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfast on the Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfast on the Beach Lodge

Property: Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Address: 34 The Esplanade | Waiheke Island - Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakfast on the Beach Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast on the Beach is a luxury waterfront boutique lodge on beautiful Waiheke Island, New Zealand - Auckland's Paradise in the Hauraki Gulf. What makes this waterfront lodge unique is its quiet setting on the bay yet close proximity to ferries, shops, restaurants, cafes and wineries. Four luxury guest rooms with large en-suites, open lounge and atrium area that look out over expansive sea views. Each room is meticulously set to cater for your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Breakfast on the Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfast On The Beach Hotel Waiheke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing