We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury - well worth the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury - well worth the price!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Found this through TA and the high rating is very well deserved.

Run / owned by a lovely married couple; Marilyn and Keith. They were really easy to deal with in advance and so very friendly, helpful and accommodating throughout our weekend stay.

Breakfasts were superb - they took into account that my wife was pregnant and they cooked up amazing offerings each morning for us both.

The place is truly luxurious - we were in a very, very comfortable ground floor room with lovely ocean views - you can open up the whole wall to wall front windows and let the fresh air in!

Lots of 'special' touches - from the wine / nibbles pre dinner to the chocolate fish in the room, and the excellent toiletry products.

Walkable to Oneroa village and the beaches. Buses and taxis also make it easy to get around.

Not cheap, but for a memorable stay on the beautiful Island it was well worth it.

Thanks to you both!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear GTinNZ. Thank you for your kind response. It was our pleasure to host you both during your 'babymoon'. Trust all has gone well and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again - maybe for your second babymoon! Regards Marilyn and Keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
129
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

An ideal location for a visit to Waiheke Island. The property is on the Beachfront on the quiet side of the island, with all bedrooms having spectacular views across to the mainland.
One of the big attractions is being just a 10 min walk to the bustle of the islands' main town ...Oneroa.... where you will find all you need by way of facilities & restaurants.
A modern 'Boutique' B & B, designed and furnished to a very high and tasteful standard.
The hosts were extremely attentive to our needs, we would certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewZealandTippler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you very much NewZealandTippler. We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay. Not so sure Oneroa can be classified as a 'bustling' town but it is full of character - and characters - of all kinds. Hope to see you both again and have a pleasant festive season. Regards Keith and Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed here the night before my wedding on 10th November this year and all I can say is WOW! My bridesmaids and I were treated amazingly, we were offered a glass of wine and time to chat with other guests. The room was spectacular, clean and homely. Breakfast was delicious! We then stayed the following night for our wedding night and were treated with chocolates and champagne on arrival back after the wedding. Marilyn and Keith are great hosts who went out of their way to make our day even more special! Highly highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We know how stressful the wedding day can be - I can recall our own 29 years earlier and it still stresses me!! Sorry Marilyn, only kidding. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again for an anniversary. Warm regards Keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Not wanting to endure the stress of international travel the week before Christmas my husband and I choose Waiheke Island as our romantic retreat. Breakfast on the Beach was recommended to us and provided the perfect end to our otherwise flawless day. With superb facilities, well appointed rooms, wonderful hosts and breakfast that is to die for, we couldn't have asked for more. Thank you, Keith and Marilyn, for making our stay with you idyllic.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for the great review. It was our pleasure to host you for your three day honeymoon with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay - Waiheke was only a short trip from Auckland for you but in many respects its like taking a trip to another zone altogether. Hope to get the opportunity to host you and Scott again.. Warm regards Keith & Marilyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have busy lives with two young children, and our stay was exactly what we needed, and were looking for. Keith and Marilyn were overly accommodating, but in a way that was respectful of our desire to spend time alone as a couple. The breakfast served each monring dictate a top review in and of themselves, as the meals were amazing and started the morning off quite prefectly. The village is close, the are ample activities in the area (borrow the bikes for a ride, take out the sea kayaks), and the view and property are pleasant and provide the optimal backdrop for any type of vacation or stay. Our greatest thank you to Keith and Marilyn for making our time on Waiheke beyond memorable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanthonyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for the kind review. You two deserved a rest after the Auckland triathlon and so pleased you found it with us. Keith enjoyed the kayak fishing as much as you guys - only a few fish caught so you are going to have to come back and get the 'one that got away'. Regards
to you both and look forward to the opportunity to host you again. Keith & Marilyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

A fantastic place to reside and what an Island! Waiheke Island is idyllic, vibrant and has everything you'd want to fulfil any ambition of a relaxing short break, the weather was gorgeous which probably added to the already very pleasant experience. If you want to wind down and relax then staying with Keith and Marilyn would make the perfect stay, it was like staying with a long lost Aunt and Uncle. The lodge has prime views over the bay and you can smell the sea air in your bedroom. Keith will pick you from the boat port and give you a guided tour on the way in and out of the terminal. We wish we could have stayed longer to eat fresh fish and drink more house red! Would wholeheartedly recommend for all ages and walks of life.

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Well I'm not too sure about the Aunt and Uncle association but we will take it as a compliment! We enjoyed having you both to stay and hope we get the change to host you longer next time. In the meantime get some fishing practice in so Keith can exercise your skills further. All the very best 'Auntie' Marilyn and 'Uncle' Keith !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Breakfast on the beach was just that. What a wonderful location, wonderful service and a beautifully designed boutique hotel. It was winter during our stay but the rooms are well heated and there is a lovely open gas fire in the guests lounge. Keith and Marilyn made my husband and I feel like the only ones there even through there were a number of other visitors. The service is something else - free Internet, free bicycles, free golf clubs, free kayaks, free wine, all the water and juices in the fridge were also complimentary and the complimentary drinks and canopes on our a first night - not to forget the evening turndowns with complimentary vintage port and chocolates. The breakfast was included in the tariff - a fully cooked breakfast - and it was magnificent! Its such a pleasure coming to a hotel were there are no hidden costs or extra bills - even all the local telephone calls were free. This was truly outstanding service that we have not experiences anywhere before. My husband wasnt up to kayaking on the second morning but Keith was more than happy to take me out for a tour of the bay after breakfast - he clearly has a passion for the local environment and loves showing guests round the beautiful bay - literally the front of the lodge! We made the most of our stay - eating, drinking, sleeping, walking, cycling, eating, drinking, sleeping etc... Two days was simply not enough.. Our NZ tour was full of highlights but our stay here was one of the best - thank you Keith, Marilyn and Crystine.

Room Tip: Take the coastal walk from the lodge round Park Point
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for the kind review. It was our pleasure to host you both and yes Keith is very passionate about the bay, fishing and kayaking - and to combine all three is his idea of heaven. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we get the opportunity to host you again another time. Regards Marilyn and Keith (the lodge owner who really wants to be a fisherman!!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiheke Island
1.4 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
230 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
90 reviews
14.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
86 reviews
1.3 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
254 reviews
1.8 mi away
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
#7 of 9 in Waiheke Island
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfast on the Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfast on the Beach Lodge

Property: Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Address: 34 The Esplanade | Waiheke Island - Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakfast on the Beach Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast on the Beach is a luxury waterfront boutique lodge on beautiful Waiheke Island, New Zealand - Auckland's Paradise in the Hauraki Gulf. What makes this waterfront lodge unique is its quiet setting on the bay yet close proximity to ferries, shops, restaurants, cafes and wineries. Four luxury guest rooms with large en-suites, open lounge and atrium area that look out over expansive sea views. Each room is meticulously set to cater for your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Breakfast on the Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfast On The Beach Hotel Waiheke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing