We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality accommodation in amazing location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Watermark Holiday Studios
Reviewed January 28, 2011

We stayed at Watermark on the first 3 nights of our honeymoon and our first trip to NZ. Owner Jo Underwood was very welcoming and informative about all the island had to offer. The apartment was immaculate & well equipped for our length of stay and the location was perfect with an amazing view of Little Oneroa Beach. Easy walking distance of the town centre, which had Information Centre and shops and bus service to Onetangi & all around the island. Wineries are within long walking distance, but a beautiful walk nonetheless. 5 minute walk to picturesque Little Oneroa beach.
We could not have been happier with our stay, thanks Jo!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HobartSugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 65 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2010

Waiheke was our 1st destination after our flight to Auckland, and Watermark and our host Jo Underwood did a wonderful job of easing us into NZ. She had helped with rental care arrangements before our arrival and was helpful with calling to check on dining options, use of a printer and recommendations for beaches and wineries. Our room had a nice view of Oneroa Bay and a patio which was a perfect place to relax in the evening with a delivery of Stephanos pizza and a glass of wine. I second all of the glowing comments in the prior reviews!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WIShikerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

This is a great place to stay. The location is ideal, only a couple of miles from the ferry. The owner was extremely helpful and offered to pick us up from the ferry / organise car hire / wash clothes. She was also very informative and was able to tell us where to find the best walks/ restaurants. Beach at the bottom of the road and restaurants close enough to walk to. The studio was well equipped and modern with a fabulous view over the sea. It was our second visit having been 3 years ago and don't think we could have found anywhere better on the island.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We chose Watermark on the strength of previous reviews and were not disappointed. We stayed in the larger studio which has an expansive sea view. It was well appointed with a kitchette. The room was spacious with 2 large lounge chairs, two seater dining table, a king size bed and a flat screen TV/DVD player. Directly outside the room was a private garden with table & chairs and umbrella. Plus, the view.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, Jo, the owner was more than accommodating with restaurant suggestions/bookings, calling for taxis bookings and general advice. The room had a very detailed folder containing brochures, maps and timetables which greatly assisted planning.

We walked to the strip shopping centre at Oneroa (500 metres) which has a grocery store and a number of restaurants and coffee shops that served very good casual food. There are a a number of wineries on the island with excellent restaurants - some like Mudbrick with excellent views. We chose to use the local bus service to sightsee - buy a daily pass and hop on and off at will.

We had arrived at Watermark rather tired and left totally refreshed, It was an excellent choice and would wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geddes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We stayed overnight at Watermark for a girlfriend weekend away, inspired by positive reviews on tripadvisor.com. The only complaint we had was that we could not stay longer. What a relaxing place. Lovely ferry ride from Auckland. A quick taxi ride from the passenger wharf, walking distance to Oneroa shops, short (though steep) walk down Tawa St to sheltered Little Oneroa beach and 3 different bus routes. (Worth getting a bus timetable). Small general store by Little Oneroa beach for basics - small supermarket and other facilities in Oneroa. Taxi drivers we had knew where Watermark was. Jo settled us in quickly, gave suggestions of places to eat and to visit. - she also gave guidance on what was open for breakfast for early starts. Lucky enough to get a beautiful sunny day in October which was (just) warm enough for a quick swim, but anticipated that had it been less pleasant, would have been nice to relax in the apartment and enjoy the view anyway. Would have liked to explore more of the island had time permitted. Attached photo shows Lillte Oneroa Beach and loctaion of Watermark in relation to it. Highly recommend for quiet, relaxing, modern accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aniit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

From the moment we arrived on Waiheke Island, Jo Underwood went the extra mile; picking us up from the ferry, catering for my champagne on ice birthday wish for my boyfriend and recommending the best places on the island from galleries to coffee to fine dining.

The apartment was lovely and stylishly decorated with a little kitchenette and everything we could need for our three night stay, not to mention a fabulous view out to sea. The situation was perfect, as despite not having a car, we had some fabulous walks on the doorstep with the well stocked main town on Waiheke a ten minute walk away.

When we return to Waiheke, we’ll definitely return to Waterfront and whilst I’m typing this, I’m almost loathed to let too many people know about this gem of a place to stay in case it’s fully booked next time we’re in town! Jo’s genuine passion for Waiheke and a natural affinity with being a hostess really does make Waterfront feel like a home from home.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cinglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

This is a marvellous place to stay with the property having stunning expansive views of the beautiful island and over the Hauraki Gulf . It is made very special by the great hospitality and generosity of the owner Jo Underwood who seems to have an intuitive understanding of guests and extensive contacts to match interests with all that is on offer on the island. I've stayed on many places on Waiheke and can't beat this one!

Stayed: January 2009
1  Thank Rosalee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
2.5 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#2 of 5 in Waiheke Island
105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#8 of 29 in Waiheke Island
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
2.9 mi away
The Sands - Waiheke Island
2.0 mi away
Le Chalet Waiheke Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Holiday Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Holiday Studios

Address: 17 Tawa Street | Little Oneroa, Auckland, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Waiheke Island
Price Range: $169 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Watermark Holiday Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern studio apartments overlooking Oneroa Bay. Each of the 3 studios has its own private terrace facing north (the sunny side on this side of the world!) 2 of the studios have lovely seaviews and the 3rd has a partial seaview but larger en-suite. 300mtrs from beautiful beaches; 10 min walk to Oneroa village, shops, bars, restaurants, cinema and information centre. Close to all main amenities, vineyards. These studios are NOT serviced! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Watermark Holiday Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing