We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, wonderful hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waiheke Punga Lodge
Ranked #7 of 27 Waiheke Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great value, wonderful hosts!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Dyan and Rob are amazing at running Punga Lodge. Our 6 night stay was the perfect start to the New Year and the beginning of our 3 week New Zealand vacation. We comfortably adjusted to the time change, enjoyed wonderful breakfasts, and spectacular walks to the beach, shops, restaurants. I'm glad we did not rent a car because we didn't need it. Dyan gave excellent instructions on getting there from Auckland Airport. Punga has a complimentary kayak we used a few times and really enjoyed ourselves. Pet friendly. (We didn't bring our dog from the US, but we enjoyed the resident pets as well as everyone else who brought theirs.) Felt at home. A few quirks like missing screens from windows and quite a few insects, yet character and charm prevail in this lovely setting. Wonderful island stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    43
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
13
72
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a couple of nights at Punga Lodge in December 2012 and had a fantastic time. The service was great and we particularly enjoyed the afternoon tea and muffins! The lodge is a short walk to the beach and Oneroa where there is some good restaurants. Dyan and Rob both made us feel very welcome and were always happy to help.

We found the relaxing tempo of Waiheke refreshing and would certainly recommend it if you would like a break from the city life in Auckland.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manukau, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights and this was our fourth time here. It was so relaxing and Dyan and Rob (the owners) are so helpful and friendly. Breakfast and afternoon tea were great. It is ideally located, just a short walk to town and the beaches. We can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden suite. Very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie88_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The owners made us feel very welcome and added to the relaxing holiday we had planned. The bush setting means that there was lots of birds to see from the room, Tui, fan tails, Rosella, Ducks and Wood Pigeons. The home cooking for afternoon tea was delicious. Waiheke is a "not so remote" island for Aucklanders but well worth the trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for 2 days and thoroughly enjoyed the friendly service and welcome of the owners. Breakfast and afternoon tea were great. The little town, the beach and the whole island were scenic and relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and i stayed here for 2 nights recently. I had been here before with my mother afew years ago and needed to come back again. Its just so relaxing. Since you arrive into the trees and hear the birds. The climate is so inviting also. We were greeted by Dyan who is so lovely and after showing us the room she bought us up afternoon tea. Her baking is just amazing. It was a hard decision to have the lemon slice or the cranberry/walnut and bran muffin so she gave me both :) We woke up to the smell of more fresh muffins......the smell was amazing. We headed down to breakfast and met Rob and he was so friendly too. We love the whole set up, you can relax in your room or sit on the communal deck with others.I loved the 2cats and cheeky dog that you will see playing in the grass. If you are looking for peace and tranquility, abit of island living in the trees away from the 5star apartments, with very friendly and welcoming hosts that make it feel so comfortable then choose this place.You walk away with a real relaxed peace of mind and you wont want to leave Waiheke.We will be back.

Room Tip: King bed in room1 very comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocoholic9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

After competing in the World Triathlon Championships in Auckland my partner and I wanted to go to Waiheke to relax and recupperate....and we are so glad we chose to do this at Punga Lodge. Everything was taken care of including our ferry tickets being at the wharf for us, taxi big enough to accommodate both our bikes and bags and us, banana and chocolate chip muffins on arrival (Dyan must have read the book about perfect recovery food for Triathletes) and advice on the best local sports masseur. Definitely a holiday to remember as we felt like royalty, especially when we announced our engagement on the last evening of our stay at Punga Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
91 reviews
1.5 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#4 of 9 in Waiheke Island
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
47 reviews
0.9 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
255 reviews
3.4 mi away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waiheke Punga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiheke Punga Lodge

Property: Waiheke Punga Lodge
Address: 223 Ocean View Road, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Waiheke Punga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waiheke Punga Hotel Waiheke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing