We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“party of 10”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waiheke Punga Lodge
Ranked #10 of 30 Waiheke Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Wow! Punga Lodge was just ideal for our walking group (although not much walking was done!)
Dyan & Rob were so helpful from the time I booked. Dyan sent maps of how to get to the car ferry & organised a taxi to get us out at night etc..Just went that extra mile to make me want to write a review!
The rooms were clean & lovely big beds.
Now the food! Amazing breakfast including fresh fruit salad & amazing muffins (even got the recipes!)
Afternoon tea awaited us each day with 3 freshly baked cakes/slices YUM.

Thanks so much Dyan & Rob you are amazing hosts.

Room Tip: Ask for the superking bed. Great
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Waiheke Punga Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 112 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2011

when it comes to someone who fits her role in the hospitality business, Dyan does take the cake. From her daily home made muffin to her trapsing upstairs with our daily "to die for" afternoon tea tray, to the scrummy fresh made fruit salad breakfast.
Bush views from the balcony, "Hot" spa, comfy room and good beds. Nothing too much trouble for, not only Dyan but Rob and daughter as well. We can definitely recommend the Punga Lodge.
Robyn and Dawn (pensioners)

Room Tip: Room 2 was great. Unobstructed view of the bush
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We did not stay here but we used the spa pool - we stayed at Tawa lodge (it's lovely). The spa pool was FULL of pubic hair and was absolutely gross. We were in and out within minutes and it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in over a year - full of leaves and bugs and HAIR!! and God knows what else. The lodge also was a huge mess when we got to reception. We passed the cabins on the way to the spa pool and they looked cheap, messy and yuck! Would never ever stay there. Ever

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank supastarstace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Wow... i dont actually know where to start! Friday morning me and my boyfriend decided to go to waiheke island (we live in hamilton) and i managed to find this cute lodge for us. Not only was it very affordable, but Dyan and Rob took all the stress out of arranging our weekend away! They sorted everything - including having someone collect us from the ferry terminal and return ferries - they even had a package waiting for us at the Auckland Ferry terminal so we didnt have to fuss around getting our tickets. The room was semi self contained with our own private deck! We woke each morning to the smell of baking for OUR breakys (which was also included) and they even kept us afternoon tea for the day we arrived for our supper! When i found the lodge on a waiheke website - everything was so expensive and to find this place was a dream! it is set in a surreal setting - so much native bush everywhere - it was a perfect getaway! just when we needed to getaway to relax - we could not of asked for more! Thanks so much Dyan and Rob! Both me and my boyfriend couldnt say a bad word about this place! we cant stop raving about our trip to Waiheke and Punga Lodge had a lot to do with it! we can not wait to return!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We went to Waiheke to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we were looking for something different. Punga Lodge is exactly what we were looking for. The lodge is set amoung the trees and you almost feel as if you are in the "wild". The setting of the lodge is so romantic and perfect. The unit we stayed in was clean and tidy and the hospitality we received was fantastic! Not to mention the yummy home baking which was the perfect touch. We throughly enjoyed our stay at the Punga Lodge.and we are DEFINITELY going to stay there again. Thank you so much Dyan and Rob.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pralene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

An excellent place to get away for a few days to relax & unwind. Little chalets set in the bush giving a lovely peaceful setting, yet only a short walk to the main road & shops etc. The unit was very clean & spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The hosts were exceptional, bringing us home made baking each day. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteDeb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We were in Waiheke Island last January to spend some days relaxing and going swimming in the beautiful island see.
We found the Punga Lodge on Internet because all the hotel the travel agency were very expensive: few days in Wahike Island were as expensive as the complete other part of our trip.
The Punga Lodge seemed to a good compromise and it is absolutely not expensive.

When you arrive there is a small car parking near the reception and all the rooms are spread in the rain forest!
It’s absolutely a strange experience.
The owner, a middle aged woman and his husband are two pleasant and gentle persons and they explain you all the activity you can do on the Island.
Near the reception there is an open air kitchen and the breakfast room, but you can also have breakfast in your room.
Outside there is a jacuzzy that you can book to spend some moment relaxing.

As I said the rooms are spread in forest so there are a lot of mosquitoes and spiders (but they are not dangerous) but in the rooms you have the insecticide.

I suggest you not to have breakfast in the balcony if you don’t want to be the breakfast of mosquitoes!

The room is quite small and very simple but with everything you need.
The bathroom is very small and, probably due to the humidity may be it needs to be refreshed.
However everything was enough clean.

The breakfast is wonderful: you chose the evening before what you want to eat and in the morning you’ll find it cooked at the moment: muffins fresh every day, toasted bread, jam, butter, coffee!

If you travel with a laptop here a free wifi connection is available.

By sure it’s a very good place to stay in Waiheke Island but you need to adapt yourself a little bit and you don’t have to think to go a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Navigator78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#3 of 4 in Waiheke Island
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tawa Lodge Waiheke Island
Tawa Lodge Waiheke Island
#26 of 30 in Waiheke Island
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 30 in Waiheke Island
232 reviews
1.6 mi away
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
#4 of 4 in Waiheke Island
41 reviews
3.4 mi away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waiheke Punga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiheke Punga Lodge

Address: 223 Ocean View Road, Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Waiheke Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Waiheke Island
Price Range: $106 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Waiheke Punga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waiheke Punga Hotel Waiheke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing