We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour View Motel Picton
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb Stay”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Excellent hosts, outstanding views, great location. Our room was spacious and contained all the necessary amenities for a truly pleasant stay. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good night's rest. Ian kindly provided us with a transfer to the water taxi, and we really appreciated this as it saved us from having to drag our bags to the waterfront. We will definitely return to the Harbour View Motel when we next visit Picton, and will recommend it to anyone who intends to stay in Picton.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoPops09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    148
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
126
588
45
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great location, with very spacious, well appointed rooms and superb views. The hosts are extremely friendly and accommodating. Absolutely no negatives. Difficult to write a review with 200 characters when one word sums it up - excellent!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie552013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Thank you Ian and Kim for our great accomodation. We were very happy with all aspects of our stay. Your friendly no trouble attitude was greatly appreciated. I loved the idea of the 'makeup face washer' not being one to wear much makeup I am still always aware of the mascara marks often left behind on the lovely white washers, so to have a coloured one supplied is a great idea. The room is serviced daily but I would have been happy to hang my towels and reuse on a 2 night stay. The continental breakfast was very generous and the view from our room was great. It was also really good to be able to open windows for fresh air at night so that we could really snuggle down and enjoy the doona. It is an easy walk into town. Highly recommend and encourage anyone thinking of staying to book in.

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJohnson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just a few steps up from the harbour, this motel is perfectly convenient for anything you could want to do in Picton. There are magic views from the windows out across the water, and the rooms are large and well equipped. Add terribly welcoming hosts who provide all the practical help you could need, and this is definitely a motel worth recommending in this quaint New Zealand town.

Room Tip: Check you have a view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onthemoveagain2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Fantastic location overlooking the harbour walking distance to town, restaurants and the harbour. Room was very well appointed with a lovely outllook from the deck. Hosts were very friendly and happy to alter our room to a lower level to accommodate sore knees. They even dropped us at the train station for our journey to Christchurch. Would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Our room was on the same level as reception but was on the end so we didnt have anyone walking past
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Arrived at Picton ferry terminal at 9:30pm pouring rain and howling wind with 18month old. They were there ready to pick us up and take us to the hotel. Room was great self contained studio. Toys were provided for my daughter and free Dvds to watch.

This place was fantastic. If you come to Picton stay here you wont be dissapointed. Customer service is so important and these people have it down pat. SIMPLY THE BEST.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hungrybugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great find - we were recommended this place by another motel in Kaikoura and we're so glad we managed to get a room. It was recently renovated with comfy beds and lovely bathroom. Had magnificent views over the harbour and town. Really pleasant place to stay - would definitely recommend staying more than one night in Picton - its a very pretty town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citylights10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.0 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 16 in Picton
92 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel Picton

Property: Harbour View Motel Picton
Address: 30 Waikawa Rd, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Picton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#2 Business Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour View Motel Picton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique studio accommodation in the heart of Picton with stunning views of Picton Harbour, the marina and surrounding landscape. Your Hosts Kim & Ian 30 Waikawa Road, Picton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbour View Motel Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Motel Picton Hotel Picton
Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing