We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour View Motel Picton
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Harbour View Motel is a great motel at a very reasonable price. Clean, spacious, comfortable and the view is exceptional! Friendly helpful owners too. Because of this we stayed several days longer than planned!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (931)
There are newer reviews for Harbour View Motel Picton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 931 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the Harbour View for two nights while touring through Australia and New Zealand. The Harbour View was our favorite hotel.

Ian and Kim are very nice and you can tell that they are very passionate about providing their guests a great place to stay. The room is excellent, very spacious, great views (even on the lower floor), large balcony, and nice small kitchen.

Our time was limited and we already had our limited days in the area planned out, but the owners clearly have a wealth of knowledge regarding the area and things to do.

I highly recommend booking at this hotel. It is clearly the best in Picton,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ludvog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Wondering where to stay in Picton, well Harbourview Motel ticked all the boxes for me. I wished we had more time to stay. The location was perfect for walking to the shops, bars and Restaurants. Just a short stagger back to our room later in the nite. I found just sitting on the deck looking at the views and watching the Ferries come and go made you relax .Rooms cannot be faulted, they are top quality. Will be going back in near future. Many thanks to Ian and kim for looking after us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My only regret about our stay at the Harbour View Motel is that it was so short. We were only due to stay there overnight, and our delayed arrival by ferry meant that we arrived late and left the next morning before the fog lifted on what was clearly a beautiful view. Even so, I would highly recommend this motel for a number of reasons. First, the great service we received despite arriving late - we were met on arrival, shown our room and all its (many, modern) features, and advised where we could find a late dinner if needed. Second, the location - just minutes by car or on foot from the ferry terminal, and with wonderful views across the harbour from the rooms. And third, the rooms - which were very modern, well heated and well equipped. On top of all this, reasonably price. We would definitely stay again, and for longer next time!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie101_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed at the Harbour View Motel for one night and wished I was staying longer. The room was excellent, spotlessly clean, bright and fresh. There was a wonderful view of the harbour and the hills around, and this seemed to be the case for most if not all rooms. Breakfast was of good quality and on time, and was sufficiently generous to supply some of my lunch too! WiFi was available too. The people were very friendly and offered to run me down to the ferry terminal in the morning. There seemed to be lots of walking, dolphin watching etc to do and I would have loved to stay longer. I have stayed in some very pleasant motels during my travels in NZ but this is the best.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIjafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We really loved staying at the Picton Harbour view. The accomodation was first rate, and the views were stunning!!! Cooking facilities, spacious, good heating, neat and clean. Lots to do in Picton too! Wine tours, ferry trips, loads of walking. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pick the top floor.. View is worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here as we started and ended our walk on the Queen Charlotte Track. We were picked up at the ferry and driven back to the ferry (at 6;00 am), at no extra charge. A nice perk when carrying luggage and back packs.

A small detail I enjoyed - when we checked in we were asked which kind of milk we preferred for coffee and tea, and then given a small bottle of milk instead of the usual tiny containers in the fridge. They also provide free internet in the rooms.

Recommendations for meals in town. Lovely view of the harbour lights at night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusaninMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.0 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
15.6 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
636 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel Picton

Address: 30 Waikawa Rd, Picton, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Picton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#2 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range: $68 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour View Motel Picton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique studio accommodation in the heart of Picton with stunning views of Picton Harbour, the marina and surrounding landscape. Your Hosts Kim & Ian 30 Waikawa Road, Picton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbour View Motel Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Motel Picton Hotel Picton
Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing