We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to start the Queen Charlotte Track”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour View Motel Picton
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great place to start the Queen Charlotte Track”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here as we started and ended our walk on the Queen Charlotte Track. We were picked up at the ferry and driven back to the ferry (at 6;00 am), at no extra charge. A nice perk when carrying luggage and back packs.

A small detail I enjoyed - when we checked in we were asked which kind of milk we preferred for coffee and tea, and then given a small bottle of milk instead of the usual tiny containers in the fridge. They also provide free internet in the rooms.

Recommendations for meals in town. Lovely view of the harbour lights at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusaninMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    150
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
127
591
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed 2 fabulous nights and had the best time!! The view from our room was stunning, looking straight out to the harbour, and all around Picton. Absolutely breath taking all day long, and stunning with the harbour lights at night.
The room was lovely, very comfy furniture and nice and toasty warm when we arrived. The hosts are super friendly, picked us up at the ferry and dropped us back, with great knowledge of the local area and further afield. Very friendly, and the room was kept very clean with lovely linen.
The hotel was walking distance to town, boat tours, great food, everything you could need.
We will definitely return, and are looking forward to it!!

Room Tip: Room 8 had a view of both the harbour and also the hills, absolutely stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We spent 3 days here and it was an awesome place to get away for a short time, great service and beautiful clean rooms. I will be recommending to all my friends and family. Kim and Ian defiantly went above and beyond for us :-) thank u for the wonderful time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

First class owners were willing to accommodate with my fluid itinerary. Great Location. Absolutely enjoyed my stay - GREAT service!... Hotel was clean and staff were very friendly and willing to help anytime... I recommend considering staying at the Harbor Inn. Location was handy to town... Big thumbs up!

Room Tip: The upper level ROCKS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porirua
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights would have loved it to be longer if we could have as was so looked after. The room was warm, cozy on arrival an was cleaned to a high standard and kept that way throughout our stay, to top it off the view's were fantastic. Walking distance from town, shopping, food, site seeing. Kim an Ian are fantasic host's even offered to drive us to the airport on departing, great PR from owners only to happy to go the extra mile if and when needed. Will be returning for a getaway trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockatoo, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent three nights here at the end of a two week travelling vacation and it was the perfect end to a fantastic trip. Louise was caretaker manager and was lovely, chirpy and very helpful. The room was well appointed, we stayed in and cooked one night, and the other two nights ate in town which was only a few minutes walk. The view was superb, we were on the top floor and even when it was wet was still stunning. Would definately stay again. Thanks Louise!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayleMorison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed a night on our holiday. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Great view over marina and picton harbour. Driveway a bit steep to top storey accomodation but motel is on a hill. Bed was a little firm but o.k. Very nice rooms and set out well. Comfy chairs.Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazyfornewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.0 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 16 in Picton
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#2 of 16 in Picton
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel Picton

Property: Harbour View Motel Picton
Address: 30 Waikawa Rd, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#1 Family Hotel in Picton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#2 Business Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour View Motel Picton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique studio accommodation in the heart of Picton with stunning views of Picton Harbour, the marina and surrounding landscape. Your Hosts Kim & Ian 30 Waikawa Road, Picton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbour View Motel Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Motel Picton Hotel Picton
Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing