We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour View Motel Picton
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Oswego
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Reception was friendly and very helpful. Our room was a good size with updated fixtures and accommodations. The view over the harbor was so nice especially as we relaxed from the lanai. We could have stayed longer! Caveat...be careful driving up the steep and narrow entrance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ojichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    148
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
123
588
45
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This motel is in an ideal position. The suites are large and very comfortable - we enjoyed a great view from ours on the top level. Ian very kindly dropped us at the ferry as we headed off to Wellington. A day trip to the Marlbrough wineries was most enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
116 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed one night after the ferry crossing. Easy to find and the place is excellent. Generous sized rooms with great view over the very small town and then the water. Easy walk to the many restaurants. Hope to return and spend two nights. WiFi worked well. Free car parking of course.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesLesleySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

A perfect choice for our stay in Picton. Very comfortable and convenient for our overnight stays prior to and at the end of our Queen Charlotte Track walk. Ian and Kim were very friendly, obliging and efficient and it was excellent to have the courtesy-vehicle service deliver us from and to the Interislander ferry terminal. A quiet location with great views of the harbour and easy walking distance to the restaurants and shops. Would definitely stay there again on a return visit to Picton.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merryl235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. Ian and Kim were more than helpful, picked us up from ferry and dropped us off at station. They also suggested a great day out to Lochmara Lodge. We had studio room which was spotlessly clean and really comfortable with a lovely view over the marina. Really near to everything that you need. If we came back this is where we would stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motueka, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2013

As promised we were met as we came off the ferry. Units were spotlessly clean and staff fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and service entered a new dimension. Location is perfect for visiting town centre and RSA is in next street. We have booked return visit

Room Tip: Middle or top level for best views of beautiful Marlborough Sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

... this place is great. We arrived early on a Sunday and Ian stored our luggage. Around 1pm Kim helped us take our luggage up to our room on the second level. The rooms are very clean and kitchens are well equipped (although a collinder would be awesome for straining pasta, etc). The dvd library at reception had lots of new releases. Kim was happy to drive us to the train in the morning when we were ready to go.

We enjoyed our overnight stay and would stay here again if in Picton.

Room Tip: Go for the third floor. Though you can see harbour from all rooms, there would be less obscuring the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.0 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
16.1 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.2 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel Picton

Property: Harbour View Motel Picton
Address: 30 Waikawa Rd, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#1 Family Hotel in Picton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#2 Business Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour View Motel Picton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique studio accommodation in the heart of Picton with stunning views of Picton Harbour, the marina and surrounding landscape. Your Hosts Kim & Ian 30 Waikawa Road, Picton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Harbour View Motel Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Motel Picton Hotel Picton
Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing