We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour View Motel Picton
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have stayed at this location on a number of occasions on visits to Picton. This time under new ownership.

From reservation to check out the service provided by Ian and Kim was truly spectacular. They are new at this type of business, but the place runs like clockwork, they provide and excellent service, helping out with pre trip advice on issues and fulfilling my requirements in every way.

The rooms are of a very high quality, exceptionally clean, modern and meet every need of the visitor. This gem of a place is truly an asset to Picton and so are Kim and Ian.

Thanks for a wonderful stay and for help with the Birthday cake! Glad you enjoyed it as did we.

Hope to see you again sometime soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    149
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
126
589
45
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Warm welcome by friendly owner Ian. Room well appointed, very clean and a lovely view of the harbour. Great location with easy access to local restaurants and bars. Ideal place to stay for one night or several days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Ideally situated. Wonderful view across the harbour. Spotlessly clean. Helpful and friendly hosts. Stayed for 4 nights with a friend who lives in Wellington, who was also very impressed. Although there is no pool or restaurant, there are plenty of places to eat, and the use of a pool across the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed in this motel for 3 nights in January. We were totally impressed with all aspects of the motel. The owners were lovely, very friendly and informative. This is the cleanest and best motel we have ever stayed in. The view of the harbour is fantastic. Always something to look at on the water with the ferries and pleasure boats coming and going all the time. They are not noisy either!
We would definitely stay there again and advise friends to do the same.

Room Tip: Room 8 has great north and east views as it is on the corner of the building. The room above us wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here two nights in January. Ian was very welcoming and informative. The rooms were spotless and well serviced with more than we could expect for the price. We stayed in the middle floor and had lovely views out over the harbour. We'd definitely recommend staying here to others. We were offered on-site parking.

Room Tip: We had an end room (room 8) with extra window at the side and comfy lazy boy couch :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night before and after doing the QC Track, respectively. You can walk from the motel to the Interislander Ferry Terminal within 10-12 minutes, to the ferry terminal for QC Track transport in 2-3 minutes.

The motel consists of two buildings: the lower building includes the reception and the ground floor rooms. The ground floor rooms have a private deck and a garden area in front which is shared by all ground floor rooms. The upper building contains the first and second floor rooms, these rooms have a balcony.

We stayed in a 1st floor room for our first night (although having booked ground floor, but being the last guests to arrive that day we could not change rooms as they were fully booked) and in a ground floor room at our returning night. Both rooms were large and very clean, but the ground floor room had a much friendlier ambience to us. Very nice view over the little garden and good to sit and watch the harbor on a stormy night before our cruise to the North Island the day after. So we can recommend especially the ground floor rooms.

Owners were very friendly and really helpful with storing parts of our luggage while being on the QC track, thanks for that!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a little shared garden in front of the private decks. We therefore liked thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelSiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in this motel for two nights in January and were very impressed with the standard of the accommodation. The room was not only clean - as were all the motels we stayed in in New Zealand - and bright but looked newly renovated and fitted out, with thick, fluffy towels, and high quality sheets. Great view from the room, and pleasant, helpful owners. Take advantage of the free transfer from the ferry terminal or train station that can be organised in advance: it's a bit of a slope up to the motel with luggage, especially for those of us with dodgy knees!
Stephen and Pat, NSW

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.0 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 16 in Picton
92 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel Picton

Property: Harbour View Motel Picton
Address: 30 Waikawa Rd, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#1 Family Hotel in Picton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#2 Business Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour View Motel Picton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique studio accommodation in the heart of Picton with stunning views of Picton Harbour, the marina and surrounding landscape. Your Hosts Kim & Ian 30 Waikawa Road, Picton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbour View Motel Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Motel Picton Hotel Picton
Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing