We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cracker of a Motel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour View Motel Picton
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
612 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“A Cracker of a Motel!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great location, walking distance from the Interislander ferry and train station. The views of the harbour and the sound are stunning, and the accommodation is first rate. Ian is new to the business and deserves every success, being keen to offer a warm and helpful welcome and help with his local knowledge, organisation of transfers to the ferry, swimming at the hotel opposite, the location of the best fish and chip suppers etc. The rooms are spacious, have all that you need for the kind of limited self catering that you might want to do on holiday. There is an on-site laundry, and towels are available for the nearby swimming pool. All rooms have a deck/balcony, but ours had the additional benefit of a garden area, and being on the end of the block had windows to the side as well as the patio doors facing the harbour. The room rates are very competetive for the spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished room, with an uber comfortable bed. A great place to stay in Picton. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room 4 - benfits from a small garden area and windows to the side elevation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcsaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    150
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
127
591
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My partner and I loved our roomy studio unit with fab views of Picton harbour. The location was convenient and the staff friendly. It was great to open our sliding doors completely and sit outside in the sun admiring the view. The bedding was soft and comfy too.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights and we had a wonderful restful and relaxing time. The top floor studio was very roomy and the view from the balcony was stunning. Lynn was such a great host. They informed us of all the facilities available on property and were very friendly and always available to answer our inquiries about Picton and the surrounding area. The studio was spacious and well equipped. We highly recommend Harbour View Motel Picton

Room Tip: Top floor studios have stunning views of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinky59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were very comfortable here for two nights. Clean, lovely view and owners who could not have done more to be helpful. Had all that was necessary to make our stay enjoyable and at a very reasonable price. We hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Go for a room high up with best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My daughter and myself stayed here about 2 weeks ago, this place is fantastic. Hosts are polite and helpful, location was fantastic and views are amazing. We did not want to leave. We will be back next September to do a week and not just 3 days. This place has all the facilities you need and is close to shops, terminal, and beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Very handy to the ferry and the helpful owners will drive you there as well . Lovely view over the harbour - we bought fish and chips from nearby and enjoyed our dinner immensely on the balcony watching the sunset and gazing at the boats and the scenery.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Harbour View Motel was one of many we stayed in during our trip around the South Island, we enjoyed it so much at beginning of our trip that we stayed there again for our last night in the South Island. We found the hosts to be very friendly and welcoming, the rooms were immaculately set out and exceptionally clean and to top it off there were stunning views of the harbour. It's location was also close to local amenities. We highly recommend this motel as it is great value and out of all the motels we stayed in this was the best one overall.

Room Tip: Upper levels provided the best views, however, all rooms have stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.0 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 16 in Picton
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#2 of 16 in Picton
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel Picton

Property: Harbour View Motel Picton
Address: 30 Waikawa Rd, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#1 Family Hotel in Picton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#2 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour View Motel Picton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique studio accommodation in the heart of Picton with stunning views of Picton Harbour, the marina and surrounding landscape. Your Hosts Kim & Ian 30 Waikawa Road, Picton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbour View Motel Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Motel Picton Hotel Picton
Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing