We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay in Picton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour View Motel Picton
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Very handy to the ferry and the helpful owners will drive you there as well . Lovely view over the harbour - we bought fish and chips from nearby and enjoyed our dinner immensely on the balcony watching the sunset and gazing at the boats and the scenery.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

773 - 779 of 943 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Harbour View Motel was one of many we stayed in during our trip around the South Island, we enjoyed it so much at beginning of our trip that we stayed there again for our last night in the South Island. We found the hosts to be very friendly and welcoming, the rooms were immaculately set out and exceptionally clean and to top it off there were stunning views of the harbour. It's location was also close to local amenities. We highly recommend this motel as it is great value and out of all the motels we stayed in this was the best one overall.

Room Tip: Upper levels provided the best views, however, all rooms have stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Harbour View Motel in Picton is the perfect spot to be if you want a clean, relaxing motel with beautiful views. Just lay in you bed, open the curtains and watch the Ferry's sail in and out. You know the saying, if you have crisp clean sheets and a perfectly made bed, then you sleep like a log! That's what you get when staying here.
Really enjoyed it!

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor as the views are even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We found Kim and Ian very friendly and helpful. Our Harbour View Motel room was immaculate, had lovely views and the motel itself was situated within walking distance to the shops, restaurants etc. You couldn't ask for better. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 and 12 for a good view (top Level). Room 8 also had a good view (middle level). Most of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed at the Harbour View, Picton with my sister last week. Our hosts picked us up from the Ferry Terminal, and we were warmly welcomed. We found our room spotlessly clean and all the rooms had a fabulous view. I would recommend Harbour View Motel as good value and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms have excellent views but the top rooms have even better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjfox_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The top floor studio rooms are large, comfortable and fully equipped. With a small balcony overlooking the harbour and Cook Straight you can't ask for better. Good value for money too, at least when we overnighted in the winter.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ThinkField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I recently stayed four nights at the Harbour View Motel. Kim and Ian are very friendly and helpful. The room was great with a fully equipped kitchen, TV and DVD player.
I recommend staying here and when I come back to Picton that Motel is my first choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.0 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
645 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
16.1 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel Picton

Address: 30 Waikawa Rd, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Picton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#2 Business Hotel in Picton
Price Range: $85 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour View Motel Picton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique studio accommodation in the heart of Picton with stunning views of Picton Harbour, the marina and surrounding landscape. Your Hosts Kim & Ian 30 Waikawa Road, Picton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harbour View Motel Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Motel Picton Hotel Picton
Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing