We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and spacious accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour View Motel Picton
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Great location and spacious accommodation”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We chose to stay here as a 'stopover' to catch the Inter-island ferry to Wellington. However, the place was so nice I actually wished we had had longer in Picton.

The Motel is run by Lynn & Keith who have high standards and gave us a warm welcome. The unit we had was very roomy, comfortable and the balcony afforded a good view of the comings and goings in Picton Harbour.
The Motel is very handy for Picton shops and eateries. However, it is on a hillside and more senior travellers may find it easier to drive the short distance onto town rather than walk. To sum up, a great place to stay and one we hope to visit again in the future.

Room Tip: The higher rooms 9-12 have better harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mekydro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    150
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
127
591
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stayed for 1 night on 20th October 2011. After 2 weeks in a campervan it was great to arrive, unwind and enjoy the amenities available. Room and view were great.

Owners were very helpful with everything and went out their way to help.

Could not fault anything. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Get a top floor sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in a room on the top floor (you pay a little extra, but it's worth it for the view!) The property was spotlessly clean and you can tell that the owners Lynne & Keith take great pride in what they do - providing a great accommodation experience!

The rooms are well equipped - very comfortable queen sized bed, sofa, table & chairs inside and on the balcony, TV and kitchenette and lovely fluffy towels in the bathroom.

Everything in the town is within easy walking distance of the hotel and the views from the rooms on the top floor are amazing. A bonus for us was being able to leave our car there for a couple of days after our stay, while we went to stay at Lochmara Lodge (across the Sound).

We will definitely stay here again if we return to Picton!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brugwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

great place to stay ! very clean and spacious rooms. has everything you can possibly think of that you will need. Stunning harbour views, easy walk to shops and ferry terminal. lynn and keith both very friendly people! would highly reccomend this hotel and would even go back if i visit picton again!

Room Tip: top level best view of harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I was very impressed with this property in Picton. I stayed on a top floor unit for 2 nights and loved the view out over the harbour. I walked to a local supermarket, bought some staples, made myself a lovely dinner in the little kitchenette, and then sat on my balcony enjoying my food with a bottle of delicious Marlborough sauvignon blanc while watching the sunset over the water. Just a wonderful evening. The unit was spotlessly clean, the management was very friendly, and I appreciated the tea, coffee, and fresh milk supplies. It's ideally located and a short walk from the ferry terminals. I'd definitely return to this charming location.

Room Tip: Get a top floor unit so you have the best view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEtoWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChCh
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This a very good motel in Picton, the rooms are clean, large and comfortable.
The view is great. It's close to the centre of Picton, its restaurant and bars.
The owners are great hosts.
Definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrHulotetlesKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Booked the Harbour view as a stop over as we had caught the Interislander from Wellington to Picton. Its a short walk from the ferry terminal however we opted for a transfer that we booked on arrival with a lady standing at the baggage carousel ($12NZD for 2 of us which was ok considering we didn't want to lug our heavy bags). Check in was quick and easy.
I had opted for the top floor because the views were lovely but it seemed all rooms had a great view of the Picton harbour. Beds were very comfy, electric blankets and sheets smelled great! ha ha. Had everything that you needed for a longer stay including a great kitchenette with cook top, fridge, toaster etc. DVD player in the room along with cd player etc.
Local shops/restaurants/bottle shop were all within walking distance.
The cleanliness of the room was impeccable and overall just really enjoyed our short but sweet stay. Keith (owner?) also gave us some great tips of things to see along our road trip.

Wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel whether its for a quick stop over or an extended getaway.

Room Tip: High floor for even better views of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixieloz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.0 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 16 in Picton
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#2 of 16 in Picton
488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel Picton

Property: Harbour View Motel Picton
Address: 30 Waikawa Rd, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Picton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#2 Business Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour View Motel Picton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique studio accommodation in the heart of Picton with stunning views of Picton Harbour, the marina and surrounding landscape. Your Hosts Kim & Ian 30 Waikawa Road, Picton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbour View Motel Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Motel Picton Hotel Picton
Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing