We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Made a rainy day a great day!

We arrived in Blenheim with plans to bike to wineries, but instead got only heavy rain. We... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Stephanie R
via mobile
Hop on hop off Marlborough

Warren, our driver, was amazing. The stops on the hop on hop off we’re all great. My favorites were... read more

Reviewed April 23, 2018
Kelly B
,
Las Vegas, Nevada
via mobile
Read all 27 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Picton
from $95.00
More Info
from $59.80
More Info
from $72.50
More Info
from $109.10
More Info
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveler rating
22
0
1
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
0
1
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hop on hop omaka aviation heritage villa maria marlborough wine allan scott wine tour warren highfield wonders isite tickets driver makana blenheim vineyards stops passengers
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 27 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2018 via mobile

Reading here that this is a new service goes someway to explaining our experience but doesn’t excuse it. We arrived into Picton via cruise ship which made for a busy day for this service. But they kept on taking bookings and people’s money so they do have an obligation to deliver. Clearly they struggled to do this and annoyed a lot of people in the process.

Busses going past venues continuously full, meaning long wait times, drivers often not stopping to communicate, stranding passengers at venues without any acknowledgement made for a lot of irritated people. When people did get on a bus then often they didn’t want to get off, cutting their tour short, and returning to Picton early, as we ended up doing. Some were pretty angry and very vocal about wanting refunds, which was understandable.

In the end, a disappointing experience of the region, and meant that a lot of wineries and other venues missed out on a lot of business.

Btw, once on board, the drivers seemed courteous and friendly. However, the person on the phone (with everyone calling to find out where the busses were) and who was also selling tickets in Picton came in for a lot of flack from a lot of people and understandably so. I am not sure why she is in the people business to be honest.

Date of experience: February 2018
3  Thank MarkDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018

We purchased tickets from Picton to Blenheim before walking the Queen Charlotte Track on 3/1-4, not realizing our ticket was incorrectly dated for 3/3. Boarded the shuttle on 3/4 before realizing our mistake. Our friendly and generous driver decided to accept the tickets anyway which of course we greatly appreciate! Fast, friendly service. Would definitely recommend.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2018 via mobile

Great day out fun and enjoyable done lots of wine tastings and then finished off at moa beer for some beer tastings also some pints in the shade under the trees what a great day in Marlborough. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank theone100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2018

Wonderful time, buses ran on time for us and we loved it. Drivers full of information. we went to wither hills, highfield, seresins and allan scott. The driver let us stop at choc factory for 10 mins and we loved it. Cheap $69.50 each keep up the great work guys. Love Escape to Picton as well one of my fav restaurants.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank KarenM9502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2018

A group of four of us used the "Hop on Hop off" tour which i understand is a relatively new addition to the area. We caught the initial bus from the Picton i-site having arrived at Picton on a cruise ship.

Well, to say the whole set-up was a debacle would be kind. At the outset, after being sold the tickets on the basis that the busses run on two interchangeable loops (a wine loop and a tour loop - museums etc.) we were then told upon getting on the bus that only one loop would operate stopping at all stops. Alarm bells immediately.

We were all herded onto a large (80 odd seat) bus to Blenhiem i-Site. Well surprise - upon arriving here only a 40 odd seat bus was present to then take people on the hour loop - luckily we got a seat.

The bus was late leaving Blenhiem and the schedule was all but lost. We got off at Highfield winery now some 15 minutes later than indicated on the schedule so we had what we thought was 45 minutes (an hour scheduled at each stop) so that we could get on the next bus.

We waited in the pick-up spot for the next bus at the scheduled time... and waited and waited and waited. The bus that eventually arrived was some 40 minutes later than schedule and by this time we were very nervous about getting back to the port on time.

To top the day off - whilst everyone on the bus simply wanted to get back to the drop off - remember, this bus is a "hop on / hop off" tour, the bus driver stopped at the chocolate factory and refused to leave until we all got off.

I made a formal complaint to the owner but all i got was excuses, and implicit allegation that i was lying about the delays, and a very insincere apology.

Given the track history in complaint management, I don't expect to get anything back even though we paid $69.90 each ($280) for four of us to sit on a bus and visit one stop - not much hop on hop off occurred.

It is a real shame, because Picton is gorgeous - all this is is an exorbitantly priced tourist trap.

Date of experience: December 2017
3  Thank PierceMcMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelingteam1, Manager at Escape to Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2018

Hello,

I am one of the ground managers and have decided to respond to this as you have already had correspondence with the owner.

What you have written is absolutely not correct.

1/ The Isite where you brought the ticket informed you the buses go in one loop.

2/ This again is reiterated at the bus.

3/ The first bus is a 40 seater not 80?

4/ The buses that go around in the loop are 20 seaters not 40 seaters?

5/ Yes this is a relatively new addition to the area. so this is correct. We try hard to work though any issues but after reading your emails I believe no refund will be forthcoming from us.

6/ You are clearly told to keep to the times on the map as drivers try and catch up times, some times this is hard due to traffic as we are in a farming area and no one wants to have an accident.

7/ The chocolate factory is a scheduled stop on both tour so even if it wasn't joint together the bus would stop.
There were other clients on the bus who heard you berating the driver who rang the office to make sure the stop was made and the driver did the right thing, no one asked you to get off the bus at all and you could of stayed on as a couple of others did as this bus then headed back to Picton.

$69.50 is a very reasonable price.

Please read the other reviews.

Escape to Marlborough Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews