We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Cafe

Le Cafe
Ranked #8 of 42 Restaurants in Picton
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

The sort of place you may walk past but shouldn't. Good location near the harbour and fab food. Menu limited but still something for everyone. Elderflower sorbet out of this world!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SHarper001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    132
    57
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Who's have thought it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

A totally informal and unpretentious establishment, Le Café produced the best food I had on my recent week long trip to Marlborough and Nelson, and I enjoyd a lot of very good food. I looked at the grilled asparagus with a mountain of green salad and thought there was no way I could through all of that before the main course, but the dressing was nectar and the next moment the plate was clean! The sirloin steak that followed was beautifully tender and cooked precisely how I asked for it (forget medium, rare or well-done - every chef has his own idea - I asked for pink but not bloody and nicely charred on the outside, and that is what I got). In the words of MacArthur, I shall return!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TomFizzStevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great view of the bay and Holy Antipasti platter!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stopped here for lunch and really enjoyed this café. It’s pretty casual (Order at the counter), but the food is freshly made and the staff is very friendly and helpful. You must sit outside, because it has great views of the water and you can enjoy of people watching. As a vegetarian I had several choices, but since it was lunch I went with the soup of the day, and a salad. We split the antipasti platter to start and it was more than enough for 2 people… we forced ourselves to finish it because all the cheeses and meats were excellent quality. My meal was equally delicious, clearly made from scratch with fresh ingrediants. They also have a nice selection of local beer and wine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lil_TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
175 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Mixed Results...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had time before our ferry to Wellington so we decided to stop here for lunch. Service was good - you basically order at the bar and they deliver it. The spicy soup was good, the steak had a weird flavoring so it was kind of a mixed experience

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favourite local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We are locals and use Le Cafe for almost all our eating out, meeting and greeting people. Love the food, the wine list, the ambiance, the locale and the great variety of music.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 876James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Le Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing