We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best Blue cod ive ever had”

DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #6 of 42 Restaurants in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $21
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bar, Cafe, New Zealand
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Ive Dined in 100 s of restaurants all over the world , and this is the best fish dish i have ever had , Blue code , mash patatoe , gravey , , beautiful , Thanks

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sullydump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerijan, Owner at DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

When we get comments like yours, it really makes all our efforts worthwhile. I have passed on your praises to all our staff. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 211 of 354 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

It's extremely hard to find a restaurant that will cook a fine blue steak! We have eaten in great restaurants all over New Zealand and Barn cafe in picton is one of the best . The blue steak was cooked to perfection and we will always highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerijan, Owner at DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thank you for your high praises. We have passed on your compliments to the chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Calling into the Barn last night was the best move we had done....seeing a kareoke night sign on the blackboard we decided to go in for a coffee and look see.....fabulous atmosphere, great staff, what a talent there is in picton......best Sticky Date Pudding I have tasted, and during the evening, they serve up free food, last night it was beautiful deep fried blue cod.....delicious, thank you guys for a wonderful night...highly recommended.....

Thank Suncoast527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerijan, Owner at DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thank you for the lovely compliments. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Very good service, lovely lady, food was very tasty, I had lamb which was tender and nice vegetables, my husband had the steak also good, altogether a very pleasant evening,a very nice friendly place and a good location.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerijan, Owner at DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thank you Gillian. It is always nice to know that we can please our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Barn Cafe is a very homely type restaurant, with a friendly feel to the place. Menu choice was good. Bar tender stepped in to back-up the somewhat stretched service, and was great and friendly. Local lady played the piano in the corner of the restaurant. Just an enjoyable place to eat a good meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beaverishintensity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerijan, Owner at DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Your lovely comments encompass what we are always striving to achieve - good food in a frienfly and comfortable environment. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing