We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to start exploring the Marlborough region”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apartments On The Waterfront Picton
Ranked #12 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Bulli, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location to start exploring the Marlborough region”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The apartments are only a few minutes from Picton but the location and views of Waikawa Bay more than make up for the short drive.
We booked the 3 bedroom apartment even though there was only the 2 of us. The lounge and dining area were spacious and provide plenty of room to relax and lounge about. The lounge room balcony had good views across the marina and bay.
The main bedroom treats you to great views up the bay when you wake up in the morning.
If you don't want to drive to dinner there is Spinakers Restaurant and the pub across in the marina. We had a fantastic fish meal the night we went to Spinakers
Overall these apartments are very comfortable and the facilities very good. We found the pricing for the 3 bedroom very competively price.

Room Tip: Book for the 3 bedroom (even for 2) and ask for the apartment 2 front the Waikawa Bay end
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterdeane47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights over Easter. Upstairs living area large and comfortable. Great having 2 balconies so you could be sit in the sun either side of the building. 3 bedrooms downstairs. Felt a little isolated and small. 3rd bedroom was an internal bunk room which we didn't use apart from storing bags. Great to wander around Waikawa Marina and the Jolly Roger bar served good meals. Overall peaceful and relaxing but didn't want to spend too much time downstairs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumluhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Certainly worth the $$ for accommodation that made it happen. Very well equipped, close to great food and we loved the marvelous views from the balconies. Picton only minutes away.

Room Tip: Two storey unit, sleeping (2 BR) and ablutions down, open living with 2nd loo up top . open view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MerlinBlaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

Definitely a prize winner in terms of size of accommodation!  For the two of us we stayed in an apartment (no5) that slept 6. The bedrooms and bathroom are downstairs while upstairs there is a fantastic open plan living/dining/kitchen area with balconies to both sides, one with good views of the marina.
Really well equipped - we weren't really there long enough to make much use but little touches such as decent kitchen equipment plus dishwasher, washing machine tumble dryer etc.
Bed was very comfortable although surprisingly for a property of this quality the bathroom was average.
Free unlimited wifi (hooray) completed it.
It is well out of Picton town and so dining out options are limited if you want to drink, but the Spinnaker across the road is fabulous (see sep review). The Jolly Roger pub below it is not - go there for a beer but for food it is poor quality.
Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmy55bellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We couldn't believe how big our apartment was at this place. And the view was to die for from our lounge balcony, the water, sea birds and all the boats. This place is excellent value for money, very quiet and a much better choice than staying in the heart of Picton. The manager Mike is very helpful. If you are a group of 4 adults then this is easily your best bet. You pay per person but you always get a 3 bedroom apartment so the lounge area is amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for room 13-18
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trickey-Dickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Each apartment is two storey and the upstairs lounge, kitchen and dining room are very spacious. The three bedrooms and one bathroom downstairs were very clean but a bit on the small side. Two of the bedrooms had a nice view across the marina and estuary. There were problems with the broadband connection and the only place to get a good signal was in the office. Not much to do in the immediate area, just a pub and restaurant but there's a better variety of eating places back in the little town of Picton, just a 5 minute drive away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saintf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We arrived from Blenheim airport and located the apartments' We had pre-booked and expected to be met at arrival. There was no staff available and the office was closed with a telephone outside. This went stright to an answering machine saying to call the managers mobile nuumber. As we had just arrived in NZ we only had a UK phone with us to contact him on. A two minute call to Wellington for $5 located our key in an eletric meter box by the door of our apatment (10). An e-mail or some other communication would have been appreciated as we had booked several months earlier. Once inside the apartment the accommodtion lived up to expected stndards. Fully equiped kitchen,42"LCD TV, surround sound, 3 Bose i-pod docking sets, clean and good aspects all round,comfortable furnishings.Also to reiterate earlier comments Spinnakers restaurant was excellent. Picton library has free Wi-FI and the I-site in town is very helpful re walks and longer "tramps". As we were in the norh of south island at this time a lot of the roads up to the Nelson region were closed due to the severe floods

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnludkiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
2.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
1.7 mi away
Kippilaw House
Kippilaw House
#2 of 23 in Picton
124 reviews
6.3 mi away
Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments On The Waterfront Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments On The Waterfront Picton

Property: Apartments On The Waterfront Picton
Address: 45 Beach Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments On The Waterfront Picton 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments on the Waterfront in Picton, offers you relaxed unique self-catering waterfront motel style accommodation right on the water's edge in the heart of the Bay and Marina, Picton. An ideal waterfront location for your relaxing holiday in a magical setting or if you are just passing through on business. The apartments are fully self-contained and beautifully furnished with all the modern conveniences (including Wireless broadband internet access and SKY TV in all rooms).Your motel style accommodation has its own private balcony from where to enjoy the views, overlooking Waikawa Bay, the marina and out into the Queen Charlotte Sound. We have a salt water swimming pool and a Jacuzzi. You can choose from a one, two or three bedroom apartment, sleeping a maximum of 6 guests. (Twin rooms, Queen and/or Kings beds).In unparalleled location, you can relax or take a stroll around the marina, enjoy lunch in one of the two waterfront cafes; Spinnakers restaurant or the Jolly Roger bar & cafe or choose one of the many Marlborough activities we have in close vicinity e.g. the Queen Charlotte Track, sea kayaking, boat hire and fishing trip in the Queen Charlotte Sound or visit the Marlborough Vineyards famous for their Sauvignon Blanc in the Blenheim area and taste the award winning Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc Wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Apartments On The Waterfront Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments On The Waterfront Picton Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing