We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our trip to the Winerieys”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Having just returned to U.K from 6 weeks in New Zealand, during which we spent 3 days in Picton to sample their wines we stayed with some friends at the Gateway Motel for 2 nights and i must say the service and the welcome was second to none, l ould and will recommed this motel to any of my friends who wish to travel to that area in the future l cannot speak highley enought of the accomadation

Jim & Julia Howard
Wales U.K

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbo917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,028)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had to book the last two remaining places on a hut on the Abel-Tasman-Track and they helped us out with their Wifi without hesitation. As far as we can see the entire place is cosy, clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaSiSiMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We arrived in Picton with friends to share a 'great outdoors' weekend in a Bach in the Marlborough Sounds. Our first night in in Picton was spent at The Gateway Motel.
Kent met and picked all 6 of us up from the ferry terminal with his shuttle service and collected us along with our plentiful supplies for our fishing weekend in the Sounds. He was not at all intimidated by all our bags and fishing gear. Nothing was too much trouble. The Gateway Motel is very central and easy walking to anywhere in Picton. The perfect 'base camp' to begin and end a fishing and outdoor weekend with friends. The rooms were clean and fresh, the beds were equally clean and very comfortable, especially once we arrived back from our fishing adventure and needed a little comfort and space to refresh and relax. We have stayed in Picton many times previously and this motel is equally as good as any first class hotel in the region, definitely a great find. Thumbs up to the genuinely friendly and helpful service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Having landed in NZ for the first time with no real itenerary, we flipped a coin & headed to the Picton/Blenheim/Marlborough region as our first port of call.
Cruising through town, we noticed a motel in the main street, and thought it may be a bit out of our budget.
What we were pleasantly surprised with was a tastefully finished Motel, conveniently located in the centre of town, friendly staff who went out of their way to ensure all of our needs were met.
We also had plenty of local knowledge passed on from the Manager regarding the infamous Princess Charlotte Sound mail run, some tips on wine tours, and other invaluable bits and pieces.
We are in the process of booking another 3 nights to allow us to see more of this glorious region.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MariaK642014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Were greeted by Kent who was very friendly, helpful and ready with lots of information for us. The rooms have recently been refurbished, and the bathrooms are really lovely. Beautifully clean and so nice to walk less than 100 metres to restaurants and shops etc. Will definitely be back. MOST comfortable bed I think we have ever slept in too!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here for 3 days near the end of our NZ trip. The motel is clean, very convenient with great facilities including a very fast wifi. The owner is very friendly and chatty and will give all the free advice you need.There is loads to see in and around Picton. Highly recommended and worth staying for longer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here the night before my ferry to the North Island. Very well situated, a short drive to the ferry and right in the centre for shops, restaurants etc. The relief managers, Chris and Bob, were on duty while I was there and couldn't have been more helpful. I also ended up sitting next to the actual managers when I went to eat and they, too were extremely friendly. The rooms are clean and well equipped and I would recommend the motel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
262 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 16 in Picton
4 reviews
15.6 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Address: 32 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range: $67 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing