We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel.”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great motel.”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here for 3 days near the end of our NZ trip. The motel is clean, very convenient with great facilities including a very fast wifi. The owner is very friendly and chatty and will give all the free advice you need.There is loads to see in and around Picton. Highly recommended and worth staying for longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    189
    45
    8
    8
See reviews for
231
390
80
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here the night before my ferry to the North Island. Very well situated, a short drive to the ferry and right in the centre for shops, restaurants etc. The relief managers, Chris and Bob, were on duty while I was there and couldn't have been more helpful. I also ended up sitting next to the actual managers when I went to eat and they, too were extremely friendly. The rooms are clean and well equipped and I would recommend the motel without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I found the accommodation comfortable, clean and with all the facilities I could have wished for having traveled across the world to be there.
The friendly reception staff and owner were only too willing to help me with any queries I had and were really concerned that my stay was a happy and relaxing one.

If I travel via Picton again in the future I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Gateway Motel with its convenient position on the main street and just a short walk to the Ferry terminal or the Railway station and only 200 metres from the sea front and gardens.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are suitable for a pleasant and relaxing stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HMD47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a base before or after your ferry trip then this is it- hosts made us very welcome from the off- rooms excellent- parking- internet- a stones throw from harbour and restaurants and also 800 metres from the ferry terminal- perfect

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rufus99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
703 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This motel is in a very handy place...close to the ferry terminal, close to local shops and eating places. The facilities were very much as I expected from the description. However, my wife took an instant dislike to the furniture (its clearly run by a man!) but I had no problems. Fine for a couple of night's stay exploring the Blenheim, Marlborough region and for early morning ferry.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014

For NZ$130.00 for a good room with great facilities this was excellent value in February in New Zealand. Very helpful owners, lovely clean tidy room. This motel is very central and close to all you need. There's no more you can say but great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed one night here in February when travelling with Kiwi Scenic Rail. The motel is close to the ferry terminal and train station and is centrally located in Picton. Very helpful and pleasant owners made us feel welcome and the motel is clean, well equipped and comfortable. Thoroughly enjoyed our trip and stay in Picton thanks to this motel. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 16 in Picton
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#2 of 16 in Picton
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Property: Gateway Motel
Address: 32 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing