We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice accommodation!!!!”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Gateway is a very nice accommodation with very friendly boss,clean and good facilities...Also the price is appropiate for traveller...I am happy for spending a wonderful night here and i believe here is the best choice in Picton~

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnsonChow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

wonderful clean tiddy room and friendly service. the hot water bath is amazing.picton is a small twon and its a thrill to find this kind of a simple tiddy place to live in. also im very saticefied with the kitchen in the apartment i have to sa not a lot of motel can provide a saticefied kitchen and this one has everything i need。

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matthewfilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Upon arrival were greeted by hosts, had booked on line via booking.com. Price for 2 bedroom unit was very good. Hosts upgraded us upon arrival to a better unit and gave us vouchers for local restaurant and coffee shop which we took advantage of. Very friendly "down to earth" hosts who could not be more helpful. Our heater didn`t work and was promptly replaced and turned on while we were out so came back to a warm room. Great central location very close to restaurants and shops. Clean tidy and comfortable rooms. These hosts should be praised for their efforts as they do what they do extremley well. Would return to stay here if passing through again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crazyfornewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We took the late ferry over from Christchurch and arrived in Picton around midnight, and Kent and Marie were very helpful and quick to help us check in so we could get some rest for the next day's sightseeing. Clean rooms and excellent service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvin1inBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

At a great location.People are friendly and warm-hearted. Room is nice and clean. Perfect breakfast and dinner are introduced by owner. Although I stay here for only 3 days that won't be forget it. Gateway-motel -- This is my choice for next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xing H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed three nights after reading all the wonderful reviews and was not disappointed. Great location in town, near to everything, and was given great advice on eating, bookings for the Sounds Mail Run; locals with all the knowledge on Picton and the Sounds. Very friendly, very helpful, and gave me an upgrade - a spacious room, warm, comfortable, great bed, super clean, great shower, and free wifi. A great stay and will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobynDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Looking for somewhere to stay a night between a ferry arrival and train departure, picked this place (almost) with a pin! We (with a month's luggage) were collected from the ferry, settled in, advised on places to eat and generally made to feel very welcome in a well appointed but reasonably priced room. Next day, a request to store luggage until lunchtime was responded to by "no, we'll just take it to the train and check it in for you". All this at no extra cost. What more could one want?

Room Tip: No idea - we were very happy with ours - but perhaps upstairs rooms would not suit some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
264 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
666 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#2 of 16 in Picton
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Address: 32 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range: $97 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing