We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and tidy”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

stayed here for a night before catching early ferry, very clean, comfortable unit. hosts were also very friendly, centre of town and resturants on the doorstep, great stay, would definitley stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kilgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,038)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

Had the most relaxing, pleasant stay. The hotel managers Kent & Marie we so hospitable and caring, they gave us heads up on where we could go being our first time in Picton, they even offered to take us fishing the next time we go back and that's something to look forward to, that was really great and helpful. The room was awesome & so clean, being a cleaner myself i couldn't fault the cleaning and presentation at all, not that i was looking lol. We both would definitely go back and hopefully take our grand kids. Picton itself is a beautiful place, the weather was fantastic.

Room Tip: Rooms in the corner are quiet and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is definitely the place to stay when you are in Picton.The manager Kent and his wife Marae were amazing and helpful to our staff while we were staying here.We had car problems and these guys helped out as well as offering some beers and suggesting restaurants etc, what more could you ask for.We would come back to this place in a heartbeat, these guys sure know how to turn on the good service and run a great motel.Felt like these people would go out of thier way to help out in anyway, I wish all motel managers were like this

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Route66town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Ken and Marie were excellent hosts from the moment we arrived, putting up an awning to keep us out of the sun, helping us with our bags etc. The room was spotless with an excellent bed and the location on the high street was quiet at night. Handy for harbour, walks, shops etc. We bought steaks and cooked them on the barbie provided. Ken even took as down to the ferry in this car. Great service and we will stay there the next time we are in Picton

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer191255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I only stayed for one night here, but the owners were very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is very central and close to shops, restaurants and the harbour. My room was very clean, had a nice kitchenette (my room was a studio) and had two queen or king beds. I was worried it was going to be noisy since it seemed to back up to a playground area - I could hear children play in the afternoon but it was quiet at night and I slept well. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritByBirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were made to feel very at home by Kent and Marie and really enjoyed our stay. The location of the motel is excellent for Picton and the ferries or trains. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. The added extras of the laundry and lift to the train were most useful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at this motel when we arrived in Picton as we took the last ferry from Wellington and also stayed on our return to Wellington.
The motel is very close to the ferry terminal and is clean and modern. The owners were very helpful and friendly.
We had a very comfortable stay - thank you.
Sheena and Mark

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Shinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#2 of 17 in Picton
518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Address: 32 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range: $98 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing