We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,056)
Filter reviews
1,056 results
Traveler rating
782
201
56
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
782
201
56
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main street middle of town ferry terminal new zealand place to stay comfortable beds the managers motel accommodation unit nz kitchenette waterfront heater
Filter
Updating list...
714 - 719 of 1,056 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The motel is in the center of the Picton village. Very close to the harbour where the interislander ferry lands.
The rooms are not very big and also not very modern, but the management is very friendly and helpful.
They provide much help and information about the area, town and restauants.
The wireless network they have from Zenbu does not work in the rooms at the street side, but fortunately Telecom NZ does also provide free wifi in Picton.
The pricemfor the room is reasonable, but the value for money is just OK.

Date of stay: January 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ger van H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a night here, arriving about 9:45pm after our ferry crossing. The great service started when I first booked online, with a telephone call to say that the room we had booked did not have the necessary number of beds for our family. We were a bit pressed to find a room in picton at this busy time of year with enough beds for all of us. There was an extra single bed in our room waiting for us when we arrived. We were checked in so quickly that we were probably in our room getting ready for bed before the last cars were off the ferry. Very friendly & helpful service. Great location right in the middle of town. It was easy to find from the ferry terminal. We found our unit was very clean. We are sorry we only had one night to stay.

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiTripPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

After traveling around the South Island we were suprised at how clean, fresh and large the rooms were for the price! It was nice to have room to spread out instead of falling all over each other. Centeral to shopping and within walking distance to the ferry made the necissities easy and the staff were so lovely, friendly and helpfull. We loved staying there and would recomend the Gateway to anybody. Well done Kent, Marie and the Gateway Team, we hope to see you again some day.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonCarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I could not be happier about my stay at this Motel. I was part of a group of 18 that used this motel before and after walking the Queen Charlotte Track. Even though we arrived on the evening Interislander from Wellington a phone call to the motel allowed us to be picked up after a wait of only a few minutes. A shuttle service then took us and our baggage to the motel. We were able to leave some bags we did not need at the motel to be picked up on our return after our walk. The rooms were excellent and the staff were able to recommend very good eating places within easy reach of the motel which is in the main street of Picton. The couple running the motel are very friendly and they went out of their way to make our stay very pleasant. On our last night our group had dinner at the Thai Restaurant in Picton (which is also excellent by the way. On our way back to the motel we were caught in a thunder storm. The motel sent the motel transport to pick up one of our group who had a broken ankle.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This motel has had so many good reviews it seems hardly necessary to add our two bob's worth. So we'll keep it short.
We stayed overnight twice, before and after walking the Queen Charlotte Track. If we return to Picton we will stay there again.
The room was spotless, the check-in service perfect, the location on High Street within a minute or two walk of several good cafes and bars and the waterfront. Plenty of parking.

Room tip: Ask for ground level.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews